The 2014 season enters the finishing straight with the eighth round of the year at the Lausitzring (DE) on 14th September. The race at the 3.478-kilometre circuit could actually determine the winner of this year’s Drivers’ Championship: after claiming his fourth win of the season at the latest race at the Nürburgring (DE), Marco Wittmann (DE) of BMW Team RMG now has 120 points to his name – 64 more than Audi drivers Mattias Ekström (SE) and Edoardo Mortara (IT).

Like Wittmann in the Drivers’ Championship, BMW Team RMG also leads the team competition with three races remaining this season. Team Principal Stefan Reinhold’s (DE) outfit tops the standings with 159 points after the home win in the Eifel Mountains. BMW is also sitting pretty at the top of the Manufacturers’ Championship with 302 points.

Last season’s race at the Lausitzring ended in disappointment for BMW Motorsport. BMW Team Schnitzer driver Bruno Spengler (CA) was the only BMW driver to finish in the top ten, coming home seventh. In 2012, the Canadian made history at the Lausitzring: BMW made its first appearance on the top step of the DTM podium after only the second race of its comeback season. Spengler started from pole position and, after 52 laps of racing, crossed the finish line first at the wheel of the BMW Bank M3 DTM. This success laid the foundations for Spengler’s title win at the season finale in Hockenheim (DE). It was also BMW’s 50th victory in the DTM. Augusto Farfus (BR) finished third to complete a successful weekend for BMW.

The Lausitzring hosts the DTM for the 16th time this season. With ten different layouts, the circuit 130 kilometres south of Berlin (DE) is, along with the “Moscow Raceway”, the track with the most variants on this year’s calendar. The DTM will race on the 3.478-kilometre layout, which features twelve corners. The circuit has been a permanent fixture on the calendar since 2000. The Lausitzring is driven in an anti-clockwise direction, with the BMW drivers tackling 52 laps before they see the chequered flag.

This season, for the first time, the International German Motorcycle Championship (SUPERBIKE*IDM) lines up on the same bill as the DTM at the Lausitzring. The starting field will feature many BMW riders on BMW S 1000 RR and BMW HP4 bikes, including reigning champion Markus Reiterberger (DE).

ARD will broadcast the DTM qualifying at the Lausitzring at 16:40 on Saturday. Fans watching on TV will be able to follow the race action live from 13:15 on Sunday, when the eight BMW drivers go in search of more points.

Jens Marquardt (BMW Motorsport Director):
“The race at the Lausitzring heralds the business end of the 2014 season. It is a special place for us. In 2012, it was here that we claimed our first DTM victory since returning the series. Last year was a different story, when we did not look particularly good from a sporting point of view. Only Bruno Spengler finished in the points back then. With these memories in the back of our mind, we know that it is far from a given that Marco Wittmann will be able to take this opportunity to win the title with races still to come. Let’s wait and see how strong everyone is there this year. It goes without saying that the current situation with the performance weight will not make it easy for our eight drivers.”

Statistics ahead of the race at the Lausitzring.

Circuit / Date Lausitzring, 14th September 2014
Laps / Distance 52 laps, 3.478 km
2013 Pole Time Christian Vietoris (DE), 1:17.715 minutes
2013 Winner Gary Paffett (GB), Mercedes
2013 Fastest Lap Mike Rockenfeller (DE), 1:18.268 minutes


Driver data.

Nationality BR US CA DE DE PT DE BE
Number 3 4 9 10 17 18 23 24
Team BMW Team RBM BMW Team RBM BMW Team Schnitzer BMW Team Schnitzer BMW Team MTEK BMW Team MTEK BMW Team RMG BMW Team RMG
Races 27 27 100 138 17 7 17 7
Wins 4 14 7 1 4 1
Poles 3 16 8 4 1
Fastest Laps 1 1 14 8 3
Points 218 45 584 424 73 4 169 39
2014 Points 33 7 42 24 33 4 120 39
Current Position 9th 20th 5th 15th 10th 20th 1st 7th
Performance Weights +10 kg +7.5 kg +10 kg +10 kg +10 kg +5 kg +10 kg +10 kg


DTM standings after 7 of 10 races.

Drivers’ Championship.

1. Marco Wittmann (120 points), 2. Mattias Ekström (56), 3. Edoardo Mortara (56), 4. Mike Rockenfeller (53), 5. Bruno Spengler (42), 6. Christian Vietoris (41), 7. Maxime Martin (39), 8. Adrien Tambay (36), 9. Augusto Farfus (33), 10. Timo Glock (33), 11. Jamie Green (28), 12. Robert Wickens (27), 13. Miguel Molina (26), 14. Paul di Resta (24), 15. Martin Tomczyk (24), 16. Timo Scheider (19), 17. Pascal Wehrlein (15), 18. Daniel Juncadella (10), 19. Nico Müller (10), 20. Joey Hand (7), 21. António Félix da Costa (4), 22. Gary Paffett (4).

Team Championship.
1. BMW Team RMG (159 points), 2. Audi Sport Team Abt (92), 3. Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline (82), 4. Audi Sport Team Phoenix (72), 5. BMW Team Schnitzer (66), 6. Original-Teile Mercedes AMG (65), 7. BMW Team RBM (40), 8. Audi Sport Team Rosberg (38), 9. BMW Team MTEK (37), 10. EURONICS / FREE MAN’S WORLD Mercedes AMG (31) , 11. gooix Mercedes AMG (15), 12. Petronas Mercedes AMG (10).

Manufacturers’ Championship.
1. BMW (302 points), 2. Audi (284), Mercedes-Benz (121).

2014 calendar.
4th May – Hockenheim (DE), 18th May – Oschersleben (DE), 1st June – Budapest (HU), 29th June – Norisring (DE), 13th July – Moscow (RU), 3rd August – Spielberg (AT), 17th August – Nürburgring (DE), 14th September – Lausitzring (DE), 28th September – Guangzhou (CN), 19th October – Hockenheim (DE).

- Advertisement -