# Terengganu power to a 3-0 win over Police in the final

# Skipper Faizal Saari hits a brace

# Faizal is also named top scorer with seven goals

# Faizal also walks away with Men of the Match in the final

# International Razie Abdul Rahim is Player of the Tournament


By Rizal Abdullah

The National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil once again showed why Faizal Saari – often dubbed the “bad boy’ of Malaysian hockey – is also the special one in the sport in the country.

Faizal, who has held the country to ransom a couple of times – hit a brace in Terengganu’s 3-0 win over Police in the Division One final at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil on Sunday night to regain the Razak Cup, Malaysia’s premier hockey tournament.

What made it more special for Faizal was that he wore the skipper’s armband and had the honour of lifting the trophy which came with a RM10,000 cheque in prize money. For their efforts Police took home RM7,000.

There was more to come from Faizal. He was won two other awards on Sunday night as Terengganu celebrated the win in style. Faizal won the top scorer’s award with seven goals and was also named the Man of the Match in the final.

International Razie Abdul Rahim was named the Player of the Tournament which he fully deserved. Police were last year’s Division Two champions. To reach the Division One final was a big achievement for Police and coach Gurmit Singh – a former international.

Terengganu coach is none other than Sarjit Singh, former national skipper and national coach and Malaysia’s best hockey international. Gurmit and Sarjit and “buddies” with Gurmit saying that Sarjit is his “Guru” in coaching.

And Sarjit turned out to be the “Guru” in the final as Faizal opened scoring via a penalty corner 41st minute before adding a second through field effort. Akhimullah Anuar Esook completed the scoring with a field goal in the 57th minute.

Earlier Penang and Perlis played to eight-goal thriller in the Division Two final and the 4-4 draw was decided by a penalty shootout. Penang came out tops with a 3-2 win in the lottery.

Jiwa Mohan opened scoring for Penang in the 30th minute before Izuan Firdaus Tajuddin scored two in the 42nd and 57th minutes and Hafizhuddin Zaidi (47th) got one. Perlis scorers were Najmi Farizal Jazalan (35th and 49th) Azhad Akmal Fahmi (36th) and Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin (39th).

In the women’s final Pahang romped to a 4-0 win over Armed Forces with goals by Nuraini Abdul Rashid (22nd and 47th), Noorain Arshad (23rd) and Wan Nor Faiezah Saiuti (40th).


RESULTS (Finals)

Division One

Terengganu   3   Police   0


Division Two 

Penang     4    Perlis     4

(Penang won 3-2 in penalty shootout)


Women’s Final

Pahang    4      Armed Forces     0

- Advertisement -