Four teams from ASEAN will have to do battle against four other teams from Asia for the only two available slots to the Olympic Games 2020 in Japan next year.

The four teams from ASEAN are Vietnam, Myanmar, Australia and Thailand.

Following the official draw for Round 3 of the Asian Qualifiers at the AFC House Group A will have DPR Korea, hosts Korea Republic, Vietnam and Myanmar.

Group B are Australia, hosts China PR, Thailand and Chinese Taipei.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the two-leg crossover playoffs – to be played on a home and away basis – with the Group A winners facing the Group B runners-up and vice versa.

The two play-off winners will join Japan, who have already qualified by virtue of being hosts, in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

The third round will be played on 3-9 February 2020 with the playoffs scheduled for 6-11 March 2019.

- Advertisement -