Szoke takes lead in BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

 Jordan Szoke (CA) is the high-flyer in the Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK): the BMW racer was crowned champion at the final round last weekend after delivering the perfect season with seven wins in seven races. In the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, he took the lead.

The BMW S 1000 RR was also in action on the other side of the globe last weekend at the fourth round of the AustralAsian Superbike Championship (AAS) in Australia.

2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

The 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy has a new leader again: newly crowned Canadian Superbike champion Jordan Szoke (CA / CSBK PR) has taken the top position after bagging a brace of wins at the CSBK season finale. Now with 341.67 Race Trophy points to his name he improved from fourth in the ranking to the top and leads with an advantage of over 40 points.

It was the 11th time in the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy season that the lead had changed. Markus Reiterberger (DE), who had celebrated an early title win in SUPERBIKE*IDM (IDM SBK) the previous weekend, has dropped to second with 299.52 Race Trophy points. Roland Resch (AT / AARR SBK) is currently third with 292.36 points. (see full standings below).

Canadian Superbike Championship in Bowmanville, Canada.

An extraordinary performance: seven races, seven wins and the tenth title. BMW racer Jordan Szoke (CA) was crowned 2015 champion in the Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK) to end a perfect season in which he won every single race.

The season finale was held last weekend at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville (CA). Szoke rounded off his brilliant season with another pair of victories on his BMW S 1000 RR by Mopar Express Lane BMW Superbike Team.

Starting from second on the grid, Szoke was battling his rival Kenny Riedmann (CA) at the front of the field in both races. On each occasion, he rode the fastest race lap in the final lap and made the race winning manoeuvre in the last corners before the flag.

He was crowned champion of the highest category, the Pro Superbike class (CSBK PR), with a total of 378 points and an impressive lead of 110 points over his closest rival. It was his tenth title win in the series. In total, the 36-year-old Canadian has claimed a record 52 CSBK victories.

The successful end to the season for BMW was rounded off by good results from the other RR riders. The finale saw five RR riders, in addition to winner Szoke, cross the finish line in the top 10 in both races.

Chris Murray-Audain (CA) secured fifth and fourth place, Sean Huffman (CA) finished in seventh and fifth, Matt McBride (CA) ended the races in sixth and seventh place, Tim Robinson (CA) achieved ninth and eighth place, and Michael Leon (CA) rode his RR in action for the Royal Distributing Superbike Team into tenth and ninth place.

There was also success in the Amateur class (CBSK AM) with two BMW riders claiming podium finishes. In race one, Samuel Trépanier (CA) finished in second place on his RR. He failed to finish in race two however and ended the season in second place overall.

BMW privateer Jason Thoms (CA) also rode onto the podium, finishing second in race two. He came fifth in the first race. Steve McGregor (CA) finished in ninth and seventh place on his BMW S 1000 RR.


AustralAsian Superbike Championship in Ipswich, Australia

The fourth round of the 2015 AustralAsian Superbike Championship (AAS) was held on the Queensland Raceway in Ipswich near Brisbane (AU) last weekend. Three races were held in each of the individual categories. In the “Formula Oz” class, Andy Fisher (AU / Ballina Motorcycles) flew the colours of BMW as a privateer.

He finished the first race in eighth and the second in ninth (second and third place in Grade B of “Formula Oz”). In the third race he finished fifth on his BMW S 1000 RR, which saw him get the win in Grade B.

The “Formula Xtreme” riders raced together with the riders in the “Pro-Twins” and “Naked Bikes” classes, including BMW privateer Jeff Dorman (AU / Define Property). He finished in sixth once and seventh twice in “Formula Xtreme” (ninth place overall each time). Dorman also took one second place and two third places in Grade D of his class.


2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current Standings

In 2015 the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy comprises a total of 19 international and national championships. Participants in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy can compete in multiple championships. The points scored in the different championships are calculated separately for each individual race series. The current standings only include points from the race series in which the participant has scored the most Race Trophy points. You can find all the information on the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy online at the BMW Motorrad Motorsport website:



Pos. Name (Nat.) Series / Class Points
1 Jordan Szoke (CA) CSBK PR 341.67
2 Markus Reiterberger (DE) IDM SBK 299.52
3 Roland Resch (AT) AARR SBK 292.36
4 Matthieu Lussiana (FR) MT1GP STK GP 254.07
5 Michal Prášek (CZ) AARR STK 235.00
6 Roberto Tamburini (IT) STK1000 212.00
7 Michal Šembera (CZ) AARR STK 203.33
8 Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 203.08
9 Alastair Seeley (GB) BSB STK 200.73
10 Pekka Päivärinta / Kirsi Kainulainen (FI) SWC 198.52
11 Lee Johnston (GB) BMW RRC 181.33
12 Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 179.69
13 Michel Amalric (FR) FR EU 160.00
14 Hudson Kennaugh (ZA) BSB STK 158.55
15 Janez Prosenik (SI) AARR SBK 157.09


- Advertisement -