TWENTY-ONE teams, including five pro outfits, are set to light up the Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) which flags off at the legendary island of Langkawi, tomorrow.

The 21 teams comprise five Pro Tour teams, five Pro Continental teams, seven Continental teams and three National teams.

The race for the coveted yellow jersey is expected to be led by Orica-GreenEDGE’s Dutch star Pieter Weening (picture), last year’s runner-up who lost out on the overall victory to Colombian Julian David Arredondo, by a minute and 15 seconds and will surely be back with a vengeance to go a step higher this time around.

The appearance of two of the biggest teams in the world, Katusha from Russia and Tinkoff-Saxo from Denmark and Team Colombia will certainly add spice to the already hot reception awaiting cycling fans throughout the world.

The race is sanctioned by the International Cycling Union (UCI) as a 2.HC (hors category) race on the UCI Asia Tour calendar, organised by the Ministry of Youth and Sports, via the National Sports Council (NSC) in association with the Malaysian National Cycling Federation (MNCF).

- Advertisement -