BWF Jati World Junior Championships 2014 Logo      On a day when Malaysia’s challenge in the BWF World Junior Championships individual events for the Eye Level Cups came to an end in the quarter-finals top seed and favourite for the boys’ singles title Christie Jonathan of Indonesia was knocked out by China’s Lin Gui Pu.

Malaysia came close to having a player in the semifinals but joint fifth seed Cheam June Wei went down fighting to China’s joint third seed Zhao Jun Peng. Jun Peng won 18-21, 21-12, 21-17.

“I made a lot of mistakes in my match today. I was also very tired in the second set and just could not get going against my opponent. Initially I was playing okay and very much in the game … but it is disappointing to out at this stage of the tournament, ” said a dejected June Wei after his defeat.

The other Malaysian singles player in action today, unseeded R. Satheishtharan gave his best but could not match the second seeded Shi Yuqi of China and went down 12-21, 7-21 in just over half an hour.

Malaysia also had a pair in the mixed doubles quarter-finals but Tan Jinn Hwa-Goh Yea Ching fought valiantly for 55 minutes against Japan’s Yuta Watanabe-Arisa Higashino. The Japanese however won 21-7, 28-30, 21-14.

On their defeat to the Indonesians, Yea Ching said: “It is disappointing to lose as we had expected to go far in the tournament.”

Meanwhile, Indonesian’s Christie was beaten 21-17, 21-18 by the joint fifth seed in a 45 minute battle.

Results (All Quarter-Finals)
Zhao Jun Peng (Chn) beat Cheam June Wei (Mas) 18-21, 21-12, 21-17
Shi Yuqi (Chn) beat R. Satheishtharan (Mas) 21-12, 21-7
Anthony Ginting (Ina) beat Kanta Tsuneyam (Jpn) 21-13, 21-5
Lin Gui Pu (Chn) beat Christie Jonathan (Ina) 21-17, 21-18

Masahide Nakata-Katsuke Tamate (Jpn) beat Alexander Bond-Jael Eipe (Den) 18-21, 21-8, 21-16
Puavaranukroh Dechapol-Ketlen Kittinupong (Tha) beat M.R. Arjun-Chirag Shetty (Ind) 21-19, 21-14
Muhammad Rian Ardianto-Hendri K. Clinton (Ina) beat Chung Yonny-Yeung Shing Choi (Hkg) 21-15, 21-17
Kim Jae Hwan-Kim Jung Ho (Kor) beat Huang Kaixiang-Zheng Si Wei (Chn) 15-21, 21-17, 21-18

Akane Yamaguchi (Jpn) beat Liang Xiaoyu (Sin) 21-11, 16-21, 21-17
Aya Ohori (Jpn) beat Natsuki Nidaira (Jpn) 20-22, 21-18, 21-10
Qin Jinjing (Chn) beat Chochuwong Pornpawee (Tha) 21-15, 10-21, 21-18
He Bing Jiao (Chn) beat Busanan Ongbumrungpan (Tha) 21-11, 21-14

Chen Qingchen-Jia Yi Fan (Chn) beat Kilasu Ostermeyer-Natcha Saengchote (Tha) 21-13, 21-16
Du Yue-Li Yin Hui-Akane Araki-Chiharu Shida (Jpn) 21-18, 21-11
Jiang Binbin-Tang Pingyang (Chn) beat Park Keun Hye-Yoon Min Ah (Kor) 17-21, 21-11, 21-11
Apriani Apriani-Rosyita Eka Putri Sari (Ina) beat Pacharapun Chochuwong-Chanisa Teachavorasinskun (Tha)19-21, 21-14, 21-13

Mixed doubles
Muhammad Rian Ardianto-Rosyita Eka Putri Sari (Ina) beat He Jiting-Du Yue (Chn) 21-14, 21-16
Yuta Watanabe-Arisa Higashino (Jpn) beat Tan Jinn Hwa-Goh Yea Ching (Mas) 21-7, 28-30, 21-14
Park Kyung Hoon-Park Keun Hye (Kor) beat Puavaranukroh Dechapol-Puttita Supajirakul (Tha) 21-19, 21-18
Huang Kaixiang-Chen Qingchen (Chn) bat Chung Yonny-Ng Tsz Yau (Hkg) 21-15, 21-10

- Advertisement -