Malaysian Super Series Cars Round 5

SEPANG – The Malaysian Super Series Cars (Touring Production) qualifying session was a blast today with Najiy Ayyad stunning the field to claim pole position for tomorrow’s final race of the season at the Sepang International Circuit today. Currently seventh in the championship standings, Najiy turned in a sizzling performance to finish ahead of the leading drivers.

Najiy’s best lap time in today’s qualifying session was 2 minutes 33.551 seconds. Winners of the previous round, Chris Tan and Alan Wong, were less than a second behind Najiy when they returned a best of 2:34.118 today. Tony Teo was a shade further in third spot with his fastest time of 2:34.621.

The 19-year-old Najiy, who hails from Ulu Kelang, was all smiles today. “This is my first year in the MSS Cars but I have been waiting for this day … I’m really happy today. The car was in top condition,in fact we did not have to do much when we got here. After a solid practice session, I went into the qualifying with no changes and by the second lap, managed to clock the fastest lap. Everything was right today.”

Najiy is hopeful that the rains stay away tomorrow. “As I’m in front, I want to break away in the first 20 minutes but if it rains, we will have to plan for a different strategy.”

Chris added that they hoping to start from pole. “We would like to have been in pole but it was not so badafterall. The conditions did not allow it today but it was a close fight and we hope for a good race tomorrow,” said Chris from the RT-ROWE Pentagon Racing Team.

Meanwhile, MSS Cars (TP) championship leaders, Damien Dielenberg and Tommy Lee came in fifth with their best lap time of 2:35.082 and are well within reach of sealing the title this season. The duo, winners of three out of five races so far this year, lead the standings with 95 points. Damien and Tommy do not need to win tomorrow but finish creditably to take the crown. Tony, from the R Engineering Team, is second with 75 points while Chris-Alan are third with 71 points.

In the MSS Cars (GT) category, Adrian Henry d’Silva and his partner MohdFahrizal Hasan, powered by a (Ferrari 485 GT3, were the quickest today with scorching time of 2:09.422. Siow Moon Yeow and Marcus Chyerolled in next some three seconds later in a time of 2:14.137. VignesaMoorthy and Dominic Ang were third.

FitraEri and Mark Darwin, behind the wheels of the Proton Satria Neo, were in good form today as they swept the fastest time in the MSS Cars (MTC) category today. Syafiq Ali, in a Proton Preve, was next while James Veerapen and TengkuEzansettled for third fastest.

The MSS Cars Round 5 is the final round of the series for this season.

The good news for fans is that entrance to the Main Grandstand is free. Paddock passes will be sold at RM80.00 each. Fans can also purchase Paddock Season Cards with an introductory price of RM160.00 to enjoy the Malaysian Super Series (MSS) Cars, Malaysian Super Series (MSS) Bikes andSepang 1000km.


MSS Cars (TP): 1. Najiy Ayyad (Honda FD2R) 2:33.551, 2. Chris Tan-Alan Wong (Honda Civic FD) 2:34.118, 3. Tony Teo (Honda DC5) 2:34.621

MSS Cars (GT): 1. Adrian Henry d’Silva-MohdFahrizal Hasan (Ferrari 485 GT3) 2:09.422, 2. Siow Moon Yeow-Marcus Chye (Juno) 2:14.137, 3. VignesaMoorthy-Dominic Ang (Radical SR3) 2:16.648

MSS Cars (MTC): 1. FitraEri-Mark Darwin (Proton Satria Neo) 2:37.077, 2. Syafiq Ali (Proton Preve) 2:37.527, 3. James Veerapen-TengkuEzan (Proton Suprima S) 2:37.668.


Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli Asia (14 laps): 1. Philippe Prette (HK) 31:38.378, Steve Wyatt (Aust) 31:44.611, 3. David Tjiptobiantoro (Ina) 31:58.710.

Asia Cup Series Race 1 (10 laps): 1. Jake Parsons (Aust) 22:50.385, 2. PluKomarakul (Tha) 22:52.503, 3. TakeruMuratomi (Jpn) 23:00.474.

Asia Cup Series Race 2 (8 laps): 1. Daniel Woodroof (Mas) 21:32.666, 2. Jake Parsons (Aust) 21:33.611, 3. PluKomarakul (Tha) 21:34.756


0900 hrs – 0930 hrs: Asia Classic Car Challenge Race 2 (10 laps)
0950 hrs – 1020 hrs: Asia Cup Series Race 3 (12 laps)
1035 hrs – 1105 hrs: Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli Asia Qualifying 2
1130 hrs – 1200 hrs: Asia Classic Car Challenge Race 3 (10 laps)
1230 hrs – 1330 hrs: MSS (TP/ MTC) Race (60 minutes)
1500 hrs – 1530 hrs: Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli Asia Race 2 (30 minutes)
1550 hrs – 1620 hrs: Asia Cup Series Race 4 (8 laps)
1640 hrs – 1740 hrs: MSS (GT) Race (60 minutes)

- Advertisement -