* Datuk Seri Norza Zakaria elected as deputy president

* Datuk Low Beng Choo is new secretary-general

* ‘I have a very good team to work for next two years’ – Tunku Imran


After 17 years at the helm and having put Malaysia on the world map, incumbent Tunku Tan Sri Imran Tuanku Ja’afar, who was challenged by Malaysian Golf Association president Tan Sri Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor, was returned at the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM).

And the Prince from Negri Sembilan, who has made it clear that this will be his last term as OCM president, defeated Mohd Anwar by 63 votes to 41 after the challengers and incumbents broke into camps in their campaign to woo votes.

Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) deputy president Datuk Seri Norza Zakaria was voted in as the new OCM deputy president after securing a big 78-26 victory margin over Mohamad Noor Abdul Rahim.

Former vice-president Datuk Low Beng Choo is the new secretary-general – replacing incumbent Datuk Sieh Kok Chi who did not contest. Beng Choo registered a 66-38 win over challenger Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah.

Kok Chi, however, is still very much with the OCM family when he was elected as one of the assistant secretary-general (male). Moira Tan Siew is the assistant secretary-general (female).

Datuk Paduka Mumtaz Jaffar won the women’s post (vice-president) after Norcigi Norizan Ismail withdrew due to family commitments.

The new treasurer is Rosmanizam Abdullah with Ahmad Feisal Ahmad Tajuddin his assistant.

After his election Tunku Imran said his top priority now is the 2017 SEA Games which Malaysia host.

“I have a very good team to work with. There is a lot of hard work to be done to further improve the standard of sports in the country,” said Tunku Imran, a former national squash champion who was also actively involved in cricket.


OCM TEAM 2015-2017

President: Tunku Tan Sri Imran Tuanku Ja’afar

Deputy President: Datuk Seri Norza Zakaria

Vice Presidents: Mohd Nazifuddin Mohd Najib, Datuk Ong Poh Eng, Datuk Zakaria Ahmad, Datuk Megat Zulkarnain Tan Sri Omardin, Datuk Mumtaz Jaffar

Secretary-General: Datuk Low Beng Choo

Assistant Secretary-General: Datuk Sieh Kok Chi (Male)

Assistant Secretary-General: Moira Tan Siew (Female)

Treasurer: Rosmanizam Abdullah

Assistant Treasurer: Ahmad Feisal Ahmad Tajuddin

- Advertisement -