Ciclista Sports Sdn Bhd – the organisers of Le Tour de Langkawi 2018 – has settled all prize monies due to competing teams ahead of schedule after completing the report submission to the Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS).

M. Kumaresan, the Chief Executive Officer of LTDL 2018, said at the Press Conference that was held at Ciclista office this afternoon that the proper procedure has been followed and that LTDL 2018 has met all required obligations.

“We had already completed and submitted our report and, KBS had also forwarded the sum of RM 897,350 to Ciclista Sport Sdn Bhd as the amount that has been set aside as the prize monies to teams.

“We take this payment to teams very seriously as failure to fulfill this obligation will have an adverse effect on our reputation as organisers and in turn on the country,” said Kumaresan.

“That is why we have followed the regulation closely and made sure that we deliver what is expected by KBS while at the same time, appreciate the work of the riders who have shown their commitment by joining our race.

“Furthermore, we have also made sure that almost all our suppliers and agents have been paid. There are just a few small, outstanding payments. We want to show that we are good administrators and that we take seriously the job that has been entrusted to us.”

Under Article 18, all payments and prize monies to teams for LTDL 2018 will have to be settled within 30 days after the end of the race. The race ended on 25 March 2018.

In the meantime, Kumaresan revealed that Team Astana Pro from Kazakhstan was the biggest earner from LTDL 2018 with RM 140,000.

Astana rider Ricardo Minali of Italy contributed the most to the squad after winning three stages out eight and where he also picked up several sprint stages along the way to emerge as the second best sprinter of LTDL 2018.

Astana was also crowned as the Best Asian team apart from coming in as the second best team in the overall classification behind winners Wilier Triestina – Selle Italia.

Pro Continental side Willier picked up the second highest pay check with RM 86,000 in total.

The Malaysian team with the biggest earner was Pro Continental side Terengganu Cycling (TSG) with RM 80,000.

Le Tour de Langkawi 2018 was held on 18-25 March 2018 and where it started in Kangar, Perlis before finishing in Kuala Lumpur.







Overall Classification                                                       190,500.00

Team Overall                                                                        70,500.00

Asian Team Overall                                                           38,000.00

Sprint Overall                                                                        27,000.00

Kom Overall                                                                          27,000.00

Best Asian Rider Overall                                                   34,000.00

Daily Stage Winner                                                          376,000.00

Stage Sprint                                                                           31,900.00

Stage Kom Hc                                                                         2,300.00

Stage Kom (2 – 4 )                                                                21,750.00

Asian Individual Stage Winner                                       42,400.00

Best Malaysian Individual Stage Winner                         8,000.00

Daily Winner Jersey                                                           28,000.00

Total Prize Money : MYR 897,350

- Advertisement -