Six moments have been shortlisted for this year’s International Fair Play Award, with fans invited to vote for their favourite moment.

Following nominations from fans, members of the International Fair Play Committee (CIFP) and World Athletics formed a jury to decide on the shortlist of moments. Now fans can vote via World Athletics’ social media platforms for the moment that they feel best exemplifies fair play.

These votes will be combined with the votes from the jury to determine three finalists for the Fair Play Award. The finalists will be announced on 7 November.

The winner will be revealed on World Athletics’ platforms in the lead up to the World Athletics Awards in Monaco on 11 December.


• Daniel Ebenyo
In first place during the closing stages of the men’s half marathon at the World Athletics Road Running Championships Riga 23, Kenya’s Daniel Ebenyo saluted his teammate Sebastian Sawe as Sawe overtook him for gold.

• Letesenbet Gidey
After securing silver in the women’s 10,000m at the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23, Ethiopia’s Letesenbet Gidey went back to comfort Netherlands’ Sifan Hassan after Hassan’s dramatic fall on the home straight.

• Sifan Hassan
After her aforementioned fall while leading the 10,000m final at the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23, Netherlands’ Sifan Hassan was gracious in defeat and went on to claim 5000m silver and 1500m bronze.

• Shericka Jackson and Sha’Carri Richardson
After their respective gold and bronze medal wins in the women’s 200m final, Jamaica’s Shericka Jackson and USA’s Sha’Carri Richardson spontaneously embraced at the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23.

• Nina Kennedy and Katie Moon
Locked in battle, Australia’s Nina Kennedy and USA’s Katie Moon decided to share gold in the pole vault at the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23 after their attempts at 4.95m still couldn’t separate them.

• Jessica Warner-Judd
After finishing eighth in the 10,000m final at the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23, Britain’s Jessica Warner-Judd was the only athlete to wait and shake hands with the final placed runner who completed the event some distance behind the rest of the field.

Head to the respective posts on Facebook, Instagram and X to vote for your favourite moment. Voting closes at midnight CET on Sunday 5 November.

The CIFP was established 60 years ago to promote the principles of fair play in sport: fair competition, respect, friendship, team spirit, equality and sport without doping. It honours those who respect the written and unwritten rules of sport, which include integrity, solidarity, tolerance, care, excellence and joy, and who set an example for others, on and off the field. The CIFP’s first collaboration with World Athletics dates back to the 2003 World Athletics Championships in Paris. Ten awards have been handed out since then.

Holly Bradshaw and Moon were the latest recipients of the award at the World Athletics Championships in Oregon in 2022. Bradshaw injured herself after her pole snapped during the pole vault warm-up session. Her fellow competitor Moon ran over to immediately support her. Knowing she would no longer be able to contend for a place in the final, Bradshaw withdrew from the competition, thus allowing another athlete to advance. Bradshaw received a lot of abuse on social media for withdrawing, but Moon again offered support by defending her competitor.

Jury members
Dame Valerie Adams (NZL) World Athletics Athletes’ Commission Chair
Ximena Restrepo (COL) World Athletics Senior Vice President
Jon Ridgeon (GBR) World Athletics CEO
David Rudisha (KEN) multiple Olympic and world 800m champion
Sunil Sabharwal (USA) CIFP Secretary General and World Athletics Executive Board Member
Gianmarco Tamberi (ITA) Olympic and world high jump champion
Nan Wang (CHN) World Athletics Council Member

World Athletics

- Advertisement -