Muhammad Zulhilmi claimed pole position for the SIC Ninja 250 Cup when he returned the fastest time in the official qualifying session at the Sepang International Circuit during the Malaysian Super Series Bikes Round 3 & 4 here today.

The 16-year-old Zulhilmi clocked a time of 2 minutes 44.218 seconds to finished ahead of MuhhamdFairuz Nasir who was just under a second behind. Muhammad HamizanAfiq Abdul Latif was third with his best lap time of 2:45.615.

“This is my second race with SIC Ninja 250 and I really expect to clock the fastest in qualifying today,” said Zulhilmi who started racing on pocket bikes when he was 10-years-old.

On tomorrow’s race, Zulhilmi warned that it would be close. “Anyone can be a winner since as we are all on the same bike. Technically, we are all on the same machines. I have to really focus tomorrow to secure a strong finish”

Meanwhile, in the Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup, Malaysia’s FakhrusyRostam displayed superb form and composure to finish as the third fastest rider in the two practice sessions here today. His fastest time in the two practice session was 2:19.966 which he achieved in the morning.

Fakhrusyis hoping his good run today will help in the Official Qualifying session tomorrow morning which will determine his place on the grid for the race itself tomorrow afternoon. Japanese rider Ayumu Sasaki was the fastest in both sessions with his fastest time of 2:19.371. Another Japanese, Kaito Toba was the second fastest with his best lap time of 2:19.609.

Thai rider NakarinAtiratphuvpa was fourth while Malaysian ShafiqRasol was fifth fastest.

In the qualifying session for the Superstock category, NizamFairuz Hassan, astride a Honda CBR1,000, emerged the fastest to claim pole position ahead of tomorrow’s race. His time of 2:15.058 proved to be good enough to secure the top spot on the grid. Steve Martin was second while Ahmad HasrulBaharudin was third overall. 


RESULTS (Qualifying results)


SIC Ninja 250 Cup Qualifying

  1. Muhammad ZulhilmiYazid 2:44.218
  2. Muhammad Fairuz Nasir 2:45.114
  3. Muhammad HamizanAfiq Abdul Latif 2:45.615


Shell Advance ATC (Practice Session 1&2 Combined)

  1. Ayumu Sasaki (Jpn) 2:19.371
  2. Kaito Toba (Jpn) 2:19.609
  3. FakhrusyRostam (Mas) 2:19.966


Superstock Qualifying

  1. NizamFairuz Hassan (Honda CBR1000) 2:15.058
  2. Steve Martin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 2:15.295
  3. Ahmad NashrulBaharudin (Honda CBR1000) 2:15.753 


Open 250 Cup Qualifying

  1. Muhammad FazliMansuar (Kawasaki) 2:41.831
  2. SitiNorafizah Muhamad (Kawasaki Ninja 250) 2:42.171
  3. Muhammad JazilJuraimi (Kawasaki 250) 2:44.124


Superbike Qualifying

  1. MohdSyahnasShahidan (BMW S1000RR) 2:11.679
  2. Muhammad Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda CBR1000) 2:12.849
  3. Steve Martin (Kawasaki ZX10) 2:14.455


Supersport Qualifying

  1. HazlanshahMohd Noor (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2:15.085
  2. Muhammad FaridBadrulHisam (Kawasaki ZX6R) 2:15.350
  3. KhairulIdhamPawi (Honda CBR600) 2:15.397
- Advertisement -