From left: Andres Villas Boas, Marcell Desailly and Mick Doohan were the ambassadors of the Laureus Sports Awards nominations today.

A glittering collection of the world’s greatest sports stars have been nominated for the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards, following a ballot by the world’s media.

Among the giants of sport who have been nominated are three-time Laureus winners Usain Bolt and Serena Williams, Formula One world champion Sebastian Vettel, short-listed for the fifth time, and Tiger Woods, who won in 2000, the inaugural year of Laureus, who is selected again after returning to the summit of world golf. Spain’s Rafael Nadal and Russia’s Yelena Isinbayeva, both two-time Laureus winners, are nominated in two categories.

One of the most intriguing questions in this year’s contest is whether charismatic Real Madrid and Portugal footballer Cristiano Ronaldo or Miami Heat superstar LeBron James, both nominated, can become the first team player to win the individual Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award. In Action Sports, former winners, skateboarder Bob Burnquist and snowboarder Shaun White, are chosen again.

The 15th Laureus World Sports Awards, which recognise sporting achievement during the calendar year 2013, is the premier honours event on the international sporting calendar. The winners, as voted by the Laureus World Sports Academy, the ultimate sports jury, made up of 46 of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of all time, will be unveiled at a globally televised Awards Ceremony staged in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, on Wednesday, March 26.

There is a familiar look to the Nominations for Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year, with Missy Franklin, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Serena Williams all selected for the second year. At 18, swimmer Missy Franklin won a record six gold medals in the World Championships, Jamaica’s Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce matched Usain Bolt to win all three sprint gold medals in Moscow and Serena Williams had another outstanding year, winning the French and US Opens.

The full list of Nominees for the 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards is:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics – won 100m, 200m and 4 x 100m World Championship gold medals

Mo Farah (UK) Athletics – won classic 5,000m and 10,000m double in World Championships

LeBron James (US) Basketball – Miami Heat star, voted NBA MVP for fourth time in five years

Rafael Nadal (Spain) Tennis – winner of French Open, US Open and five ATP Masters event

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) Football – scored 69 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal in 2013

Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Motor Racing – won fourth straight Formula One World Championship

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year

Nadine Angerer (Germany) Football – FIFA Women’s Player of the Year, captain of German team

Missy Franklin (US) Swimming – at 18, won a record six gold medals in World Championships

Shelly Ann Fraser Pryce (Jamaica) Athletics – won three sprint gold medals in World Championships

Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia) Athletics – won pole vault world title in front of home Russian crowd

Tina Maze (Slovenia) Skiing – won Overall World Cup and three other disciplines, plus Super G world title

Serena Williams (US) Tennis – won French Open and US Open, plus eight other tournaments in 2013

Laureus World Team of the Year

All Blacks (NZ) Rugby Union – first time a national team achieved a 100% record in professional era

Bayern Munich (Germany) Football – won Champions League, Bundesliga and German Cup treble

Brazil Men’s Football Team – won Confederations Cup, beating World Cup holders Spain in final

Bob & Mike Bryan (US) Tennis – completed doubles ‘Golden Slam’ – four Grand Slams and Olympic gold

Miami Heat (US) Basketball – won NBA title for second straight year, beating San Antonio Spurs in final

Red Bull (Austria) Motor Racing – won fourth straight Formula One Constructors’ World Championship

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year

Afghanistan Cricket Team – learned cricket in refugee camps, in 2013 reached first World Cup finals

Marc Márquez (Spain) Motor Cycling – youngest ever MotoGP world champion, at 20 years 266 days

Raphael Holzdeppe (Germany) Athletics – won Germany’s first World Championship pole vault gold

Nairo Quintana (Colombia) Cycling – first Tour de France rookie to finish on the podium since 1996

Justin Rose (UK) Golf – won his first Major Championship at US Open, at the age of 32


- Advertisement -