HE is seeded only No 13 but back-up shuttler Tan Kian Meng tore the form book to upset fourth seed and experienced former Thomas Cupper Mohd Arif Abdul Latif, seeded No 4, 21-16, 13-21, 21-17 in a 67 minute battle to march into the quarter-finals of the USD50,000 Jeonju Victor Korea Grand Prix in Jeonju City on Thursday.

A place in the semi-finals beckons the 20-year-old Malaysian but he will have to overcome Japan’s Kazumasa Sakai who defeated compatriot Kenta Mishimoto 13-21, 21-18, 21-8.

Also through to the quarter-finals is Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin (seeded 8) who defeated Thomas Cupper Goh Soon Huat (seeded 10) in an all-Malaysia third round match. Iskandar’s quarter-final opponent is Korea’s Yim Jong-yoo..

Malaysia will also have a pair in the men’s doubles quarter-finals when Lim Khim Wah-Ow Yao Han defeated Koreans Chung Eui-seok-Lee Sang-joon 21-19, 16-21, 21-12 in a 47 minute match.

Lim Khim Wah-Ow Yao Han stayed alive in the men’s doubles after a 21-19, 16-21, 21-12 win over Korean’s Chung Eui-seok-Lee Sang-joon.

In the mixed doubles Malaysia suffered a setback when second seeds Tan Aik Quan-Lai Pei Jing fell to a 21-13, 10-21, 11-21 defeat to homesters Jung Ja-wookGo Ah-ra in a their third round match. However, fourth seeds Wong Fai Yin-Chow Mei Kuan kept Malaysia’s flag flying in the event with a 21-18, 21-16 win over Taiwan’s Lu Chia-pin-Chen Szu-yu.

Malaysia’s lone women’s singles survivor Yang Li Lian failed to get past Korea’s Koh Eun-byeol in the third round. The Korean won 21-11, 12-21, 21-19.

RESULTS THIRD ROUND (Malaysians only)

Men’s singles

Tan Kian Meng (Mas) beat Mohd Arif Abdul Latif (Mas) 21-16, 13-21, 21-17

Iskandar Zulkarnain Zainuddin (Mas) beat Goh Soon Huat (Mas) 21-17, 21-11

Men’s doubles

Lim Khim Wah-Ow Yao Han (Mas) beat Chung Eui-seok-Lee Sang-joon (Kor) 21-19, 16-21, 21-12

Women’s singles

Koh Eun-Byeol (Kor) beat Yang Li Lian (Mas) 21-11, 12-21, 21-19

Women’s doubles

Vivian Hoo-Ng Hui Lin (Mas) beat Choi Yoon-jung-Han Yong-joo (Kor) 21-12, 21-15

Mixed doubles

Jung Jae-wook-Go Ah-ra (Kor) beat Tan Aik Quan-Lai Pei Jing (Mas) 13-21, 21-10, 21-11

Wong Fai Yin-Chwo Mei Kuan (Mas) beat Chung Eui-seok-Lee Sang-joon (Kor) 21-19, 16-21, 21-12

Kim Duck-young-Yoo Hae-won (Kor) beat Chan Peng Soon-Ng Hui Lin (Mas) 23-21, 21-15

- Advertisement -