BMW racer Matthieu Lussiana (FR) has taken another step towards his second title in the Brazilian Moto 1000 GP series (MT1GP TSK GP).

Last weekend saw the fifth round of the 2015 season held in Curitiba (BR) – and Lussiana claimed the full haul with his BMW S 1000 RR from BMW Motorrad Petronas Racing.

He claimed pole position, set the fastest race lap with a new track record and took his fourth win of the season in a dominant manner. In the overall classification, Lussiana extended his lead.

In Curitiba, the riders had to cope with blazing heat, but Lussiana and his team had prepared the number 1 BMW S 1000 RR perfectly for these hot conditions. In Saturday’s qualifying, Lussiana secured pole position for the third time this season. In Sunday’s race he pulled away right after the start.

On lap two he put in the fastest lap of the race by setting a new track record of 1:19.998 minutes. After 18 laps, Lussiana took the chequered flag with an advantage of over eight seconds.

In the five races held so far this season, Lussiana has claimed four wins and one second place. In the overall classification the BMW rider now leads with 128 points and an advantage of 48 points over his closest rival.

Three more rounds will be contested this year. In the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, Lussiana has improved to third (see full rankings below).

His BMW Motorrad Petronas Racing team-mate Luciano Ribodino (AR) finished the race in Curitiba in fifth on his BMW S 1000 RR. Victor Moura (BR / M2B Racing) crossed the line seventh overall on his BMW S 1000 RR, taking the win in the Evo class.

In the race of the GP Light class (MT1GP STK LT), BMW privateer Márcio Pereira (BR / MS Racing Team) came home fifth and Mauricio Paludete (BR / Sport Plus Racing) who was eighth on his RR.

2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current Standings.

In 2015 the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy comprises a total of 19 international and national championships. Participants in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy can compete in multiple championships. The points scored in the different championships are calculated separately for each individual race series.

The current standings only include points from the race series in which the participant has scored the most Race Trophy points. You can find all the information on the 2015 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy online at the BMW Motorrad Motorsport website:



Pos. Name (Nat.) Series / Class Points
1 Jordan Szoke (CA) CSBK PR 341.67
2 Markus Reiterberger (DE) IDM SBK 299.52
3 Matthieu Lussiana (FR) MT1GP STK GP 294.81
4 Roland Resch (AT) AARR SBK 292.36
5 Pekka Päivärinta / Kirsi Kainulainen (FI) SWC 250.67
6 Michal Prášek (CZ) AARR STK 235.00
7 Alastair Seeley (GB) BSB STK 229.82
8 Roberto Tamburini (IT) STK1000 212.00
9 Michal Šembera (CZ) AARR STK 203.33
10 Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 203.08
11 Hudson Kennaugh (ZA) BSB STK 181.82
12 Lee Johnston (GB) BMW RRC 181.33
13 Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FR) FR EU 179.69
14 Michel Amalric (FR) FR EU 160.00
15 Janez Prosenik (SI) AARR SBK 157.09


- Advertisement -