# Indonesia snatch 3-2 win over Japan for men’s title

# China beat Japan 3-2 for women’s title after being 2-0 down


Japan suffered a double blow in the Badminton Asia Team Championships – losing the men’s and women’s final by 3-2 margins to Indonesian and China respectively.

In the finals played at the Gochibowli Stadium in Hyderabad, India on Sunday, Japan endured the pain of losing the final despite looking good at the start, especially the women who failed to ride on a 2-0 leadafter winning the opening singles and doubles.

The men’s final was no different with World No 4 Kento Momota giving Japan the first point with an easy 21-17, 21-7 win over world No 33 Ihsan Maulana Mostafa.

Indonesia made it 1-1 after winning the first doubles through Angga Pratama-Rickey Karanda Suwardi who edged Japan’s Hiroyuki Endo-Kenichi Hayakawa in 58 minute battle.

Rising star Ginting Anthony shocked Japan’s hope Sho Sasaki (world No 22) with a 21-7, 21-16 win for Indonesia to lead 2-1. Ginting is ranked No 34 in the world.

It was all square at 2-2 on the night when Japan’s Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda stopp[ed Berry Agriawan-Ryan Agung Saputra 21-16, 21-15.

The came the decisive third singles to decide the match. Indonesia’s Christie Jonathan held his nerve and kept his cool to come back from a set dwon to triumph 14-21, 21-19, 21-13 for a deserved win for the title.

The Indonesians did the celebration gig while the Japanese were left to drown their sorrows – after their women suffered a similar fate in the final against the Chinese.

Japan looked to finish off the tie in three matches after Nozomi Okuhara beat Wang Shixian 17-21, 21-16, 21-15 in the first singles before Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi stormed to a 21-12, 21-16 win over Luo Ying-Tian Qing in the first doubles.

China, however, turned the tie around when Sun Yu gave a polished display to upstage Sayaka Sato 22-20, 21-19 in a nail-biting second singles.

It was just what China needed to keep the adrenaline flowing and Luo Yu-Tang Yuanting carved out a 21-11, 21-10 win over Naoko Fukuman-Yanao Kurumi.

Reigning junior world champion He Bingjiao showed maturity in her game to down her much more experienced opponent Yui Hashimoto 21-18, 21-12 for the title – leaving the Japanese women in tears.





(Indonesia first)

Ihsan Maulana Mustofa lost to Kento Momota 17-21, 7-21

Angga Pratama-Rickey Karanda Suwardi beat Hiroyuki Endo-Kenichi Hayakawa 22-20, 14-21, 17-21

Ginting Anthony beat Sho Sasaki 21-7, 21-16

Berry Agriawan-Ryan Agung Saputra lost to Takeshi Kamura-Keigo Sonoda 16-21, 15-21

Christie Jonathan beat Kenta Hashimoto 14-21, 21-19, 21-13



CHINA beat JAPAN 3-2

(China first)

Wang Shixian lost to Nozomi Okuhara 21-17, 16-21, 15-21

Luo Ying-Tian Qiang lost to Misaki Matsutomo-Ayaka Takahashi 12-21, 16-21

Sun Yu beat Sayaka Sato 22-20, 21-19

Luo Yu-Tang Yuanting beat Naoko Fukuman-Yanao Kurumi 21-11, 21-10

He Bingjiao beat Yui Hashimoto 21-18, 21-12

- Advertisement -