KTM’s Jonny Walker (GBR) snatched victory in a nail-biting final few minutes of the 2015 Red Bull Romaniacs Hard Enduro to make it two wins in two years. Walker lost the last stage but managed to preserve his overall lead to put himself on the top step of the podium from Husqvarna duo Graham Jarvis (GBR) and Alfredo Gómez (ESP).

Due to the favorable weather conditions throughout the race, there was not as much water in the “Appetizer” as usual but there were still plenty of mean little pools, capable of swallowing whole bikes and riders. Only Jarvis passed through like a champ whereas everyone else was struggling in this section, including Walker.

A few more drowned bikes and some fast riding later, the final cruel surprise was awaiting the riders in the famous Red Bull Romaniacs finish “Gusterita”. In addition to the already existing uphill, prolog master and “Folterknecht” new sections have been added just before the finish arch, causing utter carnage in front of the cheering crowd.

Walker was first to arrive there, after struggling slightly with the main uphill. Only a couple of minutes ahead of Jarvis, he lost precious time in the mud-hole, which ended up costing him his victory for the day.

Jarvis, who kept chasing him nailed the finish-uphill in the first attempt and kept flying towards Walker. One of the most breathtaking finishes unfolded, with Walker being stuck in the mud and Jarvis approaching. Jarvis pulled smoothly through the slippery section and passed Walker only meters away from the finish-line. This last effort secured him his win for the day with a lead of just seconds. Once he had passed the Red Bull arch, Jarvis held his breath in anticipation, while Walker was struggling out of the mud and over the wet wood. But Walker pulled through and managed to preserve his overall lead, winning the 2015 Red Bull Romaniacs with just a 2 minutes 10 seconds lead over Jarvis.

Read more about the race, results and  winner quotes HERE

Top 3 – 2015

1. Jonny Walker (GBR) 23h49m42s
2. Graham Jarvis (GBR) 23h51m52s
3. Alfredo Gómez (ESP) 24h48m02s

- Advertisement -