Team Sky’s Mikel Landa claimed overall victory in the Tour of Burgos on Saturday as Colombia’s Miguel Angel Lopez climbed to win the fifth stage from Comunero de Revenga to Lagunas de Neila.

Landa extended his overnight 27 second lead to win by 40 seconds from Enric Mas by finishing third on the stage behind Lopez and Mas.

David de la Cruz’s fourth place finish wasn’t enough to see him slip behind Mas to third in an all-Spanish podium.

Victory was some measure of comfort for Landa after missing out on the podium at the Tour de France last month by a single second in helping teammate Chris Froome win the yellow jersey.



1. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/Astana) 3hrs 11min 42sec, 2. Enric Mas (Quick-Step) at 5sec, 3. Mikel Landa (ESP/Sky) 11sec


1. Mikel Landa (ESP/Sky) 18hrs 12min 47sec, 2. Enric Mas (Quick-Step) at 40sec, 3. David de la Cruz (ESP/Quick-Step) 46 sec 

Agence France-Presse

- Advertisement -