Giugliano misses out narrowly on maiden victory as Haslam takes final place on the podium

The second race of the PATA Riviera di Rimini round of the eni FIM Superbike World Championship was won by championship Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) after a race long fight with Davide Giugliano ( Racing – Ducati Superbike Team).

Giugliano took the lead on lap 7 where he stayed until being passed by Rea with 5 laps to go. The current points leader was kept under constant pressure by the Italian, but held on to record his 11th win of the year by 1.290s. Rea’s double podium finish equals the record set by Troy Corser in 2005 of 16 consecutive podium finishes in a season.

Behind the first two, Leon Haslam (Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils) got the better of Chaz Davies on the second factory Ducati after their own personal race long duel to claim the final podium place.

Race one winner Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) was strong for the first half of the second encounter before dropping back to fifth at the flag. The former champion finished just ahead of Max Biaggi and Jordi Torres, the Aprilia Racing pairing swapping places throughout the 21 laps.
Michele Pirro rode a lonely race to finish eighth on the third Racing Ducati, with Pata Honda team mates Sylvain Guintoli and Michael van der Mark completing the top ten.

The final 5 point scoring riders were Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia), Niccolo Canepa (Althea Racing), Markus Reiterberger (VanZon Rehema BMW), Roman Ramos (Team Go Eleven Kawasaki) and David Salom (Team Pedercini Kawasaki).

Leandro Mercado’s run of point scoring finishes in every race came to an end, the Argentine rider retiring his Barni Racing Ducati at the end of lap 3. Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) was another of the riders to retire, on lap 9, while Matteo Baiocco (Althea Racing Ducati) fell off his Panigale R machine to end as the local rider’s racing weekend drew to a close on a low.

WorldSBK Misano – Race 2
1 – Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Team 
2 – Davide Giugliano Racing – Ducati Superbike Team +1.290
3 – Leon Haslam Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils +2.436

Standings (8 of 13 rounds completed)
1 – Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing Team – 375
2 – Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing Team – 242
3 – Leon Haslam Aprilia Racing Team – Red Devils – 226


Cluzel halves points gap to Sofuoglu with Misano win

The World Supersport race in Misano was won in style by Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) who converted Pole Position into his 3rd win of 2015, the 10th of his WSS career. The Frenchman smashed the lap record for the MIsano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli by over half a second on his way to victory by 1.525s at the flag. 

Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) finished 11th after crashing out of third on the final lap. The championship leader was lucky to be able to remount to salvage what could be an important 5 points, but his lead is now half of what it was entering the PATA Riviera di Rimini Round.

At the end of 19 laps, Cluzel was joined on the podium by PJ Jacobsen (CORE Motorsport Thailand) and Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) who were second and third respectively.

Gino Rea (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) finished fourth ahead of an elated Alex Baldolini (Race Department ATK#25 MV Agusta) who snatched fifth from Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing Yamaha) on the final lap.

Christian Gamarino was seventh on the Team Go Eleven Kawasaki, just edging Riccardo Russo (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda), Marco Faccani (San Carlo Puccetti Racing Kawasaki) and Martin Cardenas (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda).

Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) finished 11th after crashing out of third on the final lap. The championship leader was lucky to be able to remount to salvage what could be an important 5 points. Kyle Smith was unable to start the race after a technical problem on the sighting lap sidelined the Pata Honda rider.

The next round of the World Supersport championship takes place at the Sepang circuit in Malaysia on the first weekend of August.

World Supersport Misano – Race
1 – Jules Cluzel MV Agusta Reparto Corse 
2 – PJ Jacobsen CORE” Motorsport Thailand +1.525
3 – Lorenzo Zanetti MV Agusta Reparto Corse +8.513

Standings (8 of 12 rounds completed)
1 – Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Racing – 155
2 – Jules Cluzel MV Agusta Reparto Corse – 135
3 – PJ Jacobsen CORE” Motorsport Thailand Honda – 115

- Advertisement -