National junior women’s doubles pair, Desiree Siow Hao Shan/Ti Wei Chyi pulled off a surprise by defeating top seeds Putri Sari Dewi Citra/Jin Yujia en route to book their spot in the quarter-finasl at the Indonesia International Challenge Badminton Tournament in Surabaya, Indonesia today.

Siow/Ti , who are unseeded, however, had to go the distance before securing a  13-21, 24-22, 21-9 victory against the Singaporean pair in the second round at the Sudirman Badminton Hall, according to Badminton World Federation (BWF) website;

Earlier, Siow who teamed up with Mohd Razlan Shah Mohd Ridzuan in the mixed doubles , lost 19-21 and 15-21 to the hosts’ pair of Fachryza Abimanyu/Bunga Fitriani Romadhini in the opening round.

Another Malaysian women’s doubles pair, Soong Fie Cho/Tee Jing Yi also cruised to the last eight after fending off a strong challenge from Chen Si/Liu Lin of China;winning in 21-19 and 22-20.

The biggest casualty for the Malaysian players came in the men’s doubles after the top seeds, Lee Jian Yi/Lim Zhen Ting suffered a shocking 18-21, 24-22 and 12-21 defeat to unseeded Indonesian pair  Akbar Bintang Cahyono/Giovani Dicky Oktavan.




(Note:All Malaysian unless stated and [ ] denotes seedings)

Men’ Singles (Second Round):

[5] Lee Zii Jia bt Fathurrahman Fauzi (INA) 23-21, 21-9

[9] Tan Jia Wei bt Bagas Kristianto Nugroho (INA) 21-17, 21-18

Ye Binghong (CHN) bt [10] Cheam June Wei 21-14, 21-10


Men’s Doubles (First Round):

Akbar Bintang Cahyono/Giovani Dicky Oktavan (INA) bt [1] Lee Jian Yi/Lim Zhen Ting 21-18, 22-24, 21-12

Trikusuma Wardhana/Riky Widianto (INA) bt Nur Akmal Mohamed Rumsani/Mohd Razlan Shah Mohd Ridzuan  28-26, 17-21, 21-17

[3] Sabar Karyaman Gutama/Frengky Wijaya Putra (INA) bt Aaron Chia/Mohamad Syazmil Idham Zainal Abidin  22-20, 21-19

Willian Astan/Wisnu Cahyo Saputro (INA) bt Muhd Sharul Nazim Rahman/Muhd Sharul Nizam Rahman  19-21, 21-15, 21-15

[5] Andrei Adistia/Kwek Yee Jian (INA/MAS) bt Low Hang Yee/Shia Chun Kang  21-15, 14-21, 22-20 

[8] Wahyu Nayaka Arya Pangkaryanira/Ade Yusuf Santoso bt Chua Ching Weng/Agripinna Prima Rahmanto Putra (MAS/INA) 21-14, 21-14

Amir Syazwan Al Razi Mohd Shahriman/Muhammad Amzzar Zainuddin bt Rehan Naufal Kusharjanto/Rinov Rivaldy (INA)  24-26, 21-10, 21-16

[2] Lukhi Apri Nugroho/Tedi Supriadi (INA) bt Chen Tang Jie/Man Wei Chong 21-18, 21-6


Women’s Doubles (Second Round):

Desiree Siow Hao Shan/Ti Wei Chyi bt [1] Putri Sari Dewi Citra/Jin Yujia (SGP) 13-21, 24-22, 21-9

Soong Fie Cho/Tee Jing Yi bt Chen Si/Liu Lin (CHN) 21-19, 22-20


Mixed Doubles (First Round):

[1] Irfan Fadhilah/Weni Anggraini (INA) bt V. Thanesh/Ti Wei Chyi 21-10, 21-14

[3] Lukhi Apri Nugroho/Ririn Amelia (INA) bt Hoo Pang Roo/Cheah Yee See  21-18, 17-21, 21-12

Fachryza Abimanyu/Bunga Fitriani Romadhini (INA) bt Mohd Razlan Shah Mohd Ridzuan/Desiree Siow Hao Shan 21-19, 21-15


- Advertisement -