Ten teams including five foreign teams have confirmed their participation in the Borneo Sevens-International Clubs Rugby Tournament at the Eagles IJM Utama Club, here starting March 19.

Organising chairman Velayuthan Tan said the two-day tournament that has been organised since 2001, is recognised by the Sports Commissioner, Malaysian Rugby Union and Sabah Rugby Association.

He said the 10 teams are ATM Blackhawks, Belgium Barbarians (Belgium), Brunei 7s (Brunei), Charis Rugby Sevens (Australia), ERC Borneo Eagles, Hong Kong men’s and women’s 7S (Hong Kong), Paly Pirates (Australia), Panthers Blowpipes Rugby Club, Sabah Eagles and Singapore 7s (Singapore).

Panthers Blowpipes Rugby Club from Kuala Lumpur are taking part in the competition for the first time, he told reporters, here today.

Velayuthan Tan who is also the Eagles Rugby Club president said Sabah Eagles who are the defending champions had defeated Davetalevu from Fiji to win the title last year.

“The tournament will serve as a platform for rugby players from the country to showcase their skills against international teams,” he said. – BERNAMA

- Advertisement -