The opening event of the Professional Golf of Malaysia (PGM) Tour’s new season got off to a fiery start with the leading players showing good form.

The RM180,000 I&P Group Closed Championship at Kinrara Golf Club in Puchong, had the top-12 players at under-par on a course lengthened to a par-70 with the 14th hole turned into a par-4.

At the end of the first day multiple winners on the PGM Tour, Sukree Othman and Nicholas Fung, led the standings with matching 65s.

Both had a couple of bogeys thrown into the mix, but will have been pleased with their day’s work. Sukree was four-under-par over the first nine, while Fung went one better with a 30. The former then carded a 34 down the homeward stretch, while Fung managed it at even-par – two bogeys coming at the par-4 14th and 18th holes.

Looking back at his round, Sukree said: “It was a good start overall. This is the first day of a new season so it’s nice to do well.”

He added: “The course played a little longer than usual, but we expect that because the course is wet due to the rain over the last few days.

“And besides that, it is in good condition – the greens are good too.”

Kenneth De Silva and Muhammad Alwarith Damian were tied for third place, a stroke further back, while Mohd Zur’ie Harun, S. Siva Chandhran and Kim Leun Kwang were joint fifth on 67.

Siva Chandhran echoed Sukree’s standpoint on the course and said it was in good nick.

“The changing to a par-4 of the 14th hole does make a difference, especially for the shorter hitters,” he added. “But overall, all is good.”

Turning to his game, he said: “I didn’t do anything different during the off-season training, but I did practice a lot.

“It seems to have paid off today and I’m happy about that. Hopefully I can continue it with it.”

Lim Eng Seng, who was tied for eighth with Keegan Kam on 68, had a hole-in-one at the par-3 3rd hole.

Playing just 140 yards, Lim hit the perfect shot for the first ace of the season.


Leading First Round Scores

65 -5       Sukree Othman, Nicholas Fung

66 -4       Kenneth De Silva, Muhammad Alwarith Damian

67 -3       Mohd Zur’ie Harun, S. Siva Chandhran, Kim Leun Kwang

68 -2       Keegan Kam, Lim Eng Seng

69 -1       Kemarol Baharin, Anis Hassan, M. Sasidaran

70 E        S. Murthy, Chan Soo Keong, Mohamad Azman Basharudin, Mior

               Asyraf Haziq,Muhd Zafran Abdullah (A), Alex Tiong, M. Ramayah, 

               Lam Yu Shuen, Iylia Jamil, Mohd Nazri Mohd Zain, Mohd Rizuan Kamarudin.

- Advertisement -