Hosts Malaysia put up a crushing performance to demolished Chinese Taipei 5-0 to win Group C of the E-Plus Badminton Asia Team Championship here in Alor Star.

Former world No. 1 Datuk Wira Lee Chong Wei won the first point for Malaysia with a 17-21, 21-13, 21-15 win over Wang Tzu Wei which was followed by the pair of Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong’s 21-14, 19-21, 21-16 victory over Lee Jhe-huei-Lee Yang.

Lee Zii Jia then won the third point for Malaysisa beating Hsu Jen Hao 21-16, 21-13 as OngYew Sin-Teo Ee Yi then overcame Lu Ching Yai-Yang Po Han 21-14, 20-22, 21-14.

Third singles Iskandar Zulkarnain put up a better performance today against Lin Yu Hsien to win 21-19, 21-15.

While the win ensured Malaysia the top spot, the defeat for Chinese Taipei meant that they are out of contention as Thailand made the cut instead.

Malaysia’s opponents in the quarter-finals will be against Hong Kong.

- Advertisement -