100PLUS.latest# Malacca United whip Perlis to stay at top

# Paulo Rangel scores four as JDT II hammer UiTM FC 4-1

# Cobelli hattrick powers PKNS FC to 3-2 win over Kuantan FA

# Sime Darby doomed after 2-0 defeat to DRB Hicom

# K. Lumpur fumble with 3-3 draw against lowly Armed Forces


By Rizal Abdullah

Malacca United are headed for promotion as they registered yet another impressive win in the 100PLUS Premier League – defeating mid-table Perlis 3-1 at the Hang Jebat Stadium in Malaaca on Tuesday.

It was at the same venue that 100PLUS Premier League leaders lost their unbeaten home record this year when they lost to Super League’s Felda United 1-0 in a Group D Malaysia Cup match last Saturday.

The win over Perlis not only gave Malacca their 12th win in the leagye but also kept them at the top of the 12-team league with 39 points followed by JDT II in second place with 34 points and PKNS FC third with 33 points.

JDT II outplayed UiTM FC 4-1 at UiTM Stadium in an afternoon match – riding on Brazilian striker Paulo Rangel’s hot form. Rangel scored all four goals – with the first coming in the 61st minute via a penalty. The other goals came in the 65th, 82nd and 90th minutes. UiTM FC scorer was Moustapha Moctar Belibi (63rd).

Labinot Harbuzi scored Malacca’s opening goal in the 18th minute after Perlis took the lead through Alafi Mahmud two minutes earlier. When skipper Ilija Spasojevic scored the second on 40 minutes it was Malacca’s game.

Chilean-born Palestine international Yashir Pinto scored the third after 52 minutes for a convincing win for Malacca United.

PKNS also put their 2-1 defeat to Police in the Malaysia Cup (Group C) to keep their pace for promotion. The Selangor club had a hero in Argentine hitman Juan Manuel Cobelli who fired a hat-trick at the Darul Makmur Stadium – hitting target in 45th, 54th and 90th minutes.

Kuantan FA got a brace through Abdul Malek Mat Ariff in the 77th and 82nd minutes.



Malacca United    3        Perlis    1

Kuantan FA    2        PKNS FC    3

Sabah    0        N. Sembilan    0

DRB Hicom    2        Sime Darby    0

Armed Forces    3        K.Lumpur    3

UiTM FC    1        JDT II    4

- Advertisement -