The 2015 eni FIM Superbike World Championship Prize-Giving Ceremony has taken place today, Monday 19th October, at the St. Regis Hotel in Doha, Qatar. The gathering marked the official end to another spectacular season of motorcycle racing.

The presentation saw the crowning of Jonathan Rea as Superbike World Champion, Kenan Sofuoglu as Supersport World Champion and Kawasaki as the winning Manufacturer in both classes, becoming the first marque to ever achieve that feat in a single season.

In the presence of FIM Deputy President & QMMF President Mr. Nasser Khalifa Al Atya and WorldSBK Executive Director Mr. Javier Alonso, plus FIM CCR Director Mr. RezsĂś Bulcsu and FIM Europe President Mr. Wolfgang Srb, the ceremony also featured the handing over of the Tissot-Superpole Award and the Pirelli Best Lap Award.

Alongside the aforementioned Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team), Chaz Davies ( Racing-Ducati Superbike Team) and Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), were named as respective runner-up and third classified rider in the WorldSBK category, while Patrick Jacobsen (CORE” Motorsport Thailand Honda) and Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) joined Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) as the World Supersport top three for this year.

Attending invitees, sponsors, media and teams now look towards the off-season ahead of the 2016 WorldSBK campaign, which will follow tradition by beginning at Phillip Island in Australia on the weekend of 26-28 February.

- Advertisement -