Italian Fabio Felline edged out Australia’s Michael Matthews to win the second stage, but the Orica-GreenEdge rider maintained his overall lead at the Tour of the Basque Country on Tuesday.

Felline pipped Matthews in a sprint finish to the line on the 175.4km ride from Bilbao to Vitoria in a time of 4hr 32min 32sec with France’s Tony Gallopin in third.

Matthews retains the overall lead, though, having won the opening stage on Monday.

“I did not wait for Matthews, today I started my sprint first,” said Felline.

“I was in a good position at the end and I was right to go early.

“I knew I had good legs and I came here with the intention to win a stage. With 40k to go I had a puncture, but the team was there to help me. All day they trusted in me. It is thanks to my team that I won. This is a dream.”

Polish world champion Michal Kwiatowski was fourth, as race favourite Nairo Quintana finished safely amongst the peloton.

The start of the stage was delayed by a five minute protest from the riders in response to a serious crash towards the end of Monday’s first stage which left five riders suffering bad injuries with the cause of the accident blamed on poorly marked traffic bollards.

Wednesday’s third stage is another undulating 170.7km ride from Vitoria to Zumarraga with four peaks in the final 40 kilometres.


Results from the 175.4km second stage of the Tour of the Basque Country from Bilbao to Vitoria on Tuesday:

1.  Fabio Felline (ITA/TFR) 4hr 32min 32sec, 2. Michael Matthews (AUS/OGE) at same time, 3. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTS) s.t., 4. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) s.t., 5. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/BMC), 6. Kevin Reza (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 7. Julien Simon (FRA/COF) s.t., 8. Pello Bilbao (ESP/CJR) s.t., 9. Valerio Agnoli (ITA/AST) s.t., 10. Gianni Meersman (BEL/EQS) s.t.


Selected others

31. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) s.t., 42. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 56. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 62. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) s.t.



1. Michael Matthews (AUS/OGE) 8hr 29min 39sec, 2. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/EQS) s.t, 3. Fabio Felline (ITA/TFR) s.t., 4. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LTS) s.t., 5. Kevin Reza (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 6. Julien Simon (FRA/COF) s.t., 7. Valerio Agnoli (ITA/AST) s.t, 8.  Pello Bilbao (ESP/CJR) s.t., 9. Dani Moreno (ESP/KAT) s.t., 10. Petr Vakoc (CZE/EQS) s.t.


Selected others

26. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) s.t., 36. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 42. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 49. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) s.t.

 Agence France-Presse

- Advertisement -