Last year’s joint champions Pahang and Terengganu have yet to confirm their entries for this year’s National Veterans Hockey Tournament to be held at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium in Johor Bahru from Dec 7-10.
Also missing from the confirmed list are Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) who finished third last year.
However, Negri Sembilan, fourth last year, are among the five teams who have so far confirmed participation. The other teams who have confirmed their participation are Perak, Police, Selangor and hosts Johor.
Entries close with the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) on December 1. All entries must reach MHC Competitions Manager, Brian Fernandez by 12 noon on the said date.
Organising chairman A. Harbhajan Singh said 10 teams are expected to compete in the tournament. Apart from the confirmed teams, Harbhajan said other teams expected to compete are Pahang, Terengganu, Armed Forces, Penang and Kuala Lumpur.
Meanwhile, Johor will hold open trials to select their team for the tournament. Those interested in representing Johor can attend the trials to be held at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium on Dec 3-5.
Former international Gurmit Singh has been named as the Johor coach.  BY RIZAL ABDULLAH 
- Advertisement -