Malaysia’s Nicholas Fung has been voted as the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of Year by fans in an online poll.

Based solely on popular votes cast, Fung emerged as the fans’ favourite after a stellar 2016 season which saw him enjoy four top-10s and finishing in a career-high of 12th place on the Asian Tour Order of Merit.

The Malaysian also showed great composure by battling tooth and nail to deliver two half points for Team Asia at the EurAsia Cup presented by DRB-HICOM on home soil in January 2016.

“I’m deeply honoured to be voted as the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Year. 2016 has been a good season for me. While I may not have won a title last year, I remain positive and confident with myself. I’m sure I’ll be a winner one day,” said Fung.

As part of Hilton’s tour partnership with the Asian Tour, the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Month was initiated to recognise and reward the outstanding efforts of Asian Tour members, who sparkle both at home and abroad.

Through a dedicated Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Month microsite, golf fans get a chance to win a one-night stay at any Hilton property of their choice besides voting for their favourite players.

Only the very best performers from the Asian Tour were honoured every month throughout a spectacular 2016 season and just like how every par, birdie or eagle count on their scorecards, every vote from golf fans also matter.

The rewards for the Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Month are unbeatable as apart from 250,000 loyalty points, the winner also receives the Hilton HHonors Diamond Elite Status – the highest tier of the hotel’s world renowned loyalty programme.

This premier status will provide a host of fantastic benefits at 4,600 hotels within the Hilton portfolio around the world, including complimentary access to Executive Floors, late checkouts, 48-hour room guarantees and, pending availability, complimentary room upgrades.


2016 Hilton Asian Tour Golfer of the Month

January- Nicholas Fung

February- Marcus Fraser

March- S.S.P. Chawrasia

April- Kiradech Aphibarnrat

May- Jeunghun Wang

June- Miguel Tabuena

July- Thongchai Jaidee

August- Paul Peterson

September- Gavin Green

October- Pavit Tangkamolprasert

November- Jeunghun Wang

December- Sam Brazel

- Advertisement -