# Malaysian to face Indonesian second seed Tommy Sugiarto in the final

# End of the road for the men’s doubles, women singles and doubles

# Peng Soon-Liu Ying make the final in the mixed doubles

Leong Jun Hao gave another fighting display to reach the men’s singles final in the USD150,000 Princess Srivannavari Thailand Masters Open in Bangkok on Saturday.

Jun Hao, who upset fourth seed Hu Yun of Hong Kong in the quarter-finals on Friday, staged a remarkable comeback from one game deficit to defeat home favourite Kantaphon Wongcharoen 20-22, 21-19, 21-18 in a marathon 76-minute semifinals on Saturday.

In Sunday’s final the 19-year old Malaysian will face Indonesian second seed Tommy Sugiarto who also came back from a game down to beat Malaysian professional Daren Liew 17-21, 21-17, 21-18 in 55 minutes.

It was mixed fortunes for Malaysia in the mixed doubles. Fifth seeds Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying reached the final after a straight games 21-15, 21-11 win over Thailand’s Nipitphon Phuangphuapet-Jongkolphan Kititharakul.

However, Chen Tang Jie-Peck Yen Wei fell to Thai seventh seeds Dechapol Puavaranukroh-Putita Supajarikul 19-21, 13-21.

There was also disappointment for Malaysia in the women’s when both Soniia Cheah and S. Kisona fell to the Thai opponents. Soniia went down fighting to Thai top seed Nitchaon Jindapol 21-16, 15-21, 17-21 in a 72-minute encounter.

Kisona’s fairy tale run in Bangkok also came to a halt – losing 21-14, 21-9, 21-11 to Thai third seed Pornpawee Chochuwong.

In the men’s doubles third seeds and former world number one Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong suffered a shock defeat to unseeded Thai pair of Tinn Isriyanet-Kittisak Namdash.

Malaysia’s campaign in the women’s doubles also ended with the defeat of third seeds Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean. They were stopped by top seeds Jongkolphan-Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai of Thailand who won 18-21, 21-13, 21-17. – BY RIZAL ABDULLAH



Men’s singles

Leong Jun Hao (Mas) beat Kantaphon Wangcharoen (Tha) 20-22, 21-19, 21-18

Tommy Sugiarto (Ina) beat Daren Liew (Mas) 17-21, 21-17, 21-18


Men’s doubles

Tinn Isriyanet-Kittisak Namdash (Tha) beat Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong (Mas) 21-15, 22-20

Wahyu Nayaka Arya Pangkaryanira- Ade Yusuf Santoso (Ina) beat Berry Angriawan-Hardianto Hardianto (Ina) 21-17, 21-17


Women’s singles

Nitchaon Jindapol (Tha) beat Soniia Cheah (Mas) 16-21, 21-15, 21-17

Pornpawee Chochuwong (Tha) beat Pattarasuda Chaiwan (Tha) 14-21, 21-9, 21-11


Women’s doubles

Jongkolphan Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai (Tha) beat Chow Mei Kuan-Lee Meng Yean (Mas) 18-21, 21-13, 21-17

Anggia Shitta Awanda-Ni Ketut Mahadewi Istarani (Ina) beat Savitree Amitrapai-Pacharapun Chochuwong (Tha) 21-14, 21-18


Mixed doubles

Dechapol Puavaranukroh-Putita Supajirakul (Tha) beat Chen Tang Jie-Peck Yen Wei (Mas) 21-19, 21-13

Chan Peng Soon-Goh Liu Ying (Mas) beat Nipitphon Phuangphuapet-Jongkolphan Kititharakul (Tha) 21-15, 21-11

- Advertisement -