Jan Kisiel wins both races at the Nürburgring

Championship to be decided in season finale at Hockenheim

Audi GT driver Aditya Patel wins guest entrants’ classification


The Pole Jan Kisiel remains the measure of all things in the Audi Sport TT Cup. Following his double victory at Oschersleben, the young driver from Warsaw again won both races at the Nürburgring. His fourth success in succession and fifth victory in total makes Kisiel the hottest candidate for the Championship title. In the guest entrants’ classification, Aditya Patel (IND) was the front runner in both races.

On the tradition-steeped Eifel circuit, Kisiel was again not to be beaten. In round one of the weekend, the 21-year-old young talent started the race from position two, but on lap four took the lead that he would not relinquish again. Following an accident on lap eight, the race was stopped but fully classified, as more than 50 percent of the distance had been completed.

In Sunday’s race, Kisiel started from the top spot and went on to clinch a lights-to-flag victory. In the race for the remaining podium positions, the crowd witnessed spectacular position battles and premium-class motorsport. Dennis Marschall (D) ultimately prevailed and relegated Loris Hezemans (NL) to third place. The 19-year-old had finished Saturday’s race as the runner-up.

Rolf Michl, Project Leader of the Audi Sport TT Cup, made a positive assessment after the fifth of six race weekends: “The round on Sunday was pure suspense. As a motorsport fan, you can’t expect more than this. Unfortunately, the race on Saturday had to be stopped. Most important, however, is the fact that the two drivers involved in the accident, Christoph Hofbauer and Joonas Lappalainen, did not sustain any serious injuries and were only taken to the hospital for a check-up. On Sunday, they were able to join us in watching round two live at the race track.”

In the guest entrants’ classification, the only pro prevailed, as expected. With positions five and six overall, the Indian Audi GT driver Aditya Patel clinched a double victory. In race one, GRIP host and former rally pro Niki Schelle (D) and journalist Guido Naumann (D) completed the guest drivers’ podium. After round two, Patel celebrated his victory on the podium together with Playmate Doreen Seidel (D) and the second GRIP host, Matthias Malmedie (D).

In the overall classification of the permanent entrants, after ten of twelve races this season, Jan Kisiel is the clear leader. With a score of 199 points, he has a 35-point advantage over Nicolaj Møller Madsen (DK, 164 points).

In third place and with 163.5 points to his tally, Dennis Marschall is within striking distance. In the season finale at the Hockenheimring on October 17 and 18, the drivers can score a maximum of 50 points once more.

- Advertisement -