WELL DONE: Politeknik KPM celebrate winning the title.

POLITEKNIK KPM scored a minute from time to edge Bukit Jalil Sports School 2-1 in Milo Junior Hockey League Division Two final at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil.

Coached by former national striker Chairil Anwar Abdul Aziz, the Johor Baru-based team thoroughly deserved the win despite being guilty of missing several chances.

Credit must also be given to BJSS as they matched their more experienced opponents blow for blow but could not withstand the onslaught in the final few minutes where Asharn Hamsani made the difference, scoring seconds before the end of regulation time via a penalty corner.

It was Politeknik KPT that opened scoring with Ashran Hamsani converting a penalty corner in the 14th minute.

But BJSS were unperturbed and were on level terms in the 25th minute with Fakhri Haminin providing the finishing touch.

In the match for third spot, Olak-PKT defeated MS Pahang 2-1 and earned a reward of a trip to Bali from their sponsors PKT.

Olak went ahead in the 21st minute through Norhafiz Aris before Mohammad Zabad Rosli extend it by scoring in the 54th minute.

Though MS Pahang reduced the deficit in the 57th minute via Syafiq Sharuddin, they could not find the equaliser.

Final: Politeknik KPM 2 Bukit Jalil Sports School 1
3rd-4th: Olak-PKT 2 MS Pahang 1

Quarterfinals (First leg, Friday)
4pm: SSTMI Thunderbolt vs MS Pahang (NHS 1), Malacca High School vs Olak-PKT (NHS 2)
6pm: Petaling Jaya CC vs Bukit Jalil Sports School (NHS 1), UniKL Young Guns vs Politeknik KPM (NHS 2)

Second leg (March 2)
4pm: Politeknik KPM vs UniKL Young Guns (NHS 1), Bukit Jalil Sports School vs Petaling Jaya CC (NHS 2)
6pm: Olak-PKT vs Malacca High School (NHS 1), MS Pahang vs SSTMI Thunderbolt (NHS 2)

- Advertisement -