Malaysia has mighty China for a company in Group D but should advance to the knockout stage in the Badminton Asia Tong Yun Kai Cup Mixed Team Championships to be held in Hong Kong China from March 19-25.

The other team in the group is badminton minnows Macau China. Only the top two teams from each group will advance to the quarter-finals in the knockout stage. A new draw will be made for the knockout stage at the end of the group matches.

China was surprisingly beaten in the semi-finals in the inaugural championships held in Ho Chi Minh City in 2017 by eventual champions Japan 3-1. In the other semi-finals, South Korea defeated Thailand by a similar margin. Japan beat the Korean 3-0 in the final ..

Fourth seeds, Chinese Taipei, sixth seeds India and Singapore were drawn in Group B. Third seeds Indonesia, beaten quarter-finalists in 2017, beaten semi-finalists Thailand (seeded fifth) and Sri Lanka complete Group C.

Only 11-teams are competing in this year’s meet in Hong Kong China. South Korea and Vietnam are the notable absentees from this year’s championships. The Badminton Asia Mixed Team championships are played an alternate odd year.

The event shall comprise of one men’s and women’s singles, one men’s and women’s doubles and one mixed double.

The Mixed Team Championships will be held at the Queen Elizabeth Stadium in Wanchai, Hong Kong from March 19-25.

The group stages matches will be played from March 19-21 while the quarter-finals are on March 22 with the semi-finals scheduled for March 23. The final is on March 24.

The draw was held at the World Trade Centre Club in Causeway Bay, Hong Kong. It was witnessed by representatives from Badminton Asia, Hong Kong Badminton Association, Hong Kong Home Affairs Bureau, Tournament Referees, members of the media and players.

According to an official of the Hong Kong Badminton Association, more tickets for the grandstand have been sold. Tickets are priced from 150 to 350 Hong Kong dollars. RIZAL ABDULLAH 

The Groups

GROUP A: Japan, Hong Kong China
GROUP B: Chinese Taipei, India, Singapore
GROUP C: Indonesia, Thailand, Sri Lanka
GROUP D: China, Malaysia, Macau China

- Advertisement -