*George defeats incumbent Datuk Nur Azmi Ahmad 16-13 

* Azmi quits as national team manager after defeat

* Prof Dr Shamala defeats Maheswari 17-12 

* Former international K. Logan Raj is appointed as CEO with immediate effect


The winds of change swept through the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) following the election of office bearers at the annual general meeting in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

One of the most significant changes that took place with immediate effect was the naming of former international K. Logan Raj as MHC’s first Chief Executive Officer as the national hockey body has done away with the post of secretary general which was held by Datuk Johari Abdul Aziz.

There is also a significant change at the top with businessman and former law maker Datuk Seri Subahan Kamal, handpicked by out-going Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, the Crown Prince of Pahang, taking over the helm as the new supremo. Subahan was returned unopposed.

Incumbent senior vice-president lost his bid to move up as the deputy president when he was defeated 16-13 by former national team manager and KLHA president George Koshy. After the defeat Azmi also quit as the national team manager.

In the battle for the deputy president’s post for women senior vice-president came off 17-12 winner against K. Maheswari.

Incumbent vice-presidents Majid Manjit Abdullah and S. Nagula retained their posts. Others elected were Datuk Wan Ahmad Nizam Abdul Hamid, Datuk Radhakrishnan Nair (former MHC treasurer), Satish Kumar, Datuk Ow Soon Kooi and Nik Zarah Nik Abdul Kadir.

Subahan said at his speech that Logan Raj’s post is for a two-year period . He also appointed S. Selvendran as MHC’s new treasurer to replace Radhakrishnan after his election as a vice-president.

Tengku Abdullah, who is also the Asian Hockey Federation president, was later made the honorary president of MHC.


PRESIDENT: Datuk Seri Subahan Kamal

DEPUTY PRESIDENTS: Prof Dr Shamala Subramaniam

                                        George Koshy

VICE-PRESIDENTS: Datuk Wan Ahmad Nizam Abdul Hamid

                                   Majid Manjit Abdullah

                                   Datuk Radhakrishnan Nair

                                   Satish Kumar

                                   Datuk Ow Soon Kooi

                                    Nik Zarah Nik Abdul Kadir

                                    Nagula Sivasothy


TREASURER:  S. Selvendran

- Advertisement -