The Belgian rider Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) won Stage 4 of the 101st Giro d’Italia – 202km from Catania to Caltagirone. Michael Woods (Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale) and Enrico Battaglin (Team Lotto NL – Jumbo) finished second and third, respectively.

Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team) remains the race General Classification leader, wearing the Maglia Rosa.

1 – Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)- 202km in 5h17’34”, average speed 38.165km/h
2 – Michael Woods (Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale) s.t.
3 – Enrico Battaglin (Team Lotto NL – Jumbo) s.t.

1 – Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team)
2 – Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) at 1?
3 – Simon Yates (Mitchelton – Scott) at 17?

Complete Rankings

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the stage winner, Wellens, said: “I was lucky enough to have very strong teammates. So I started with a bit of an advantage at the beginning of the climb. I didn’t have to go full-on from the bottom; I could wait for the last 200 metres. I’m very happy with winning as early as on stage 4 so the rest of the Giro will just be a bonus, whatever comes next. I’ll ride stress free now.”

The race leader, Dennis, said: “It’s been hectic with a lot of corners and a lot of public in the finale. It was a question of staying out of trouble from the last ten kilometres until the bottom of the last climb. It’s pretty common that I’ve lost the leader’s jersey after one day in other Grand Tours. To retain the Maglia Rosa today is big for me.”


  • Maglia Rosa(pink), general classification leader, sponsored by Enel – Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team)
  • Maglia Ciclamino(cyclamen), sprint classification leader, sponsored by Segafredo – Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors)
  • Maglia Azzurra (blue), King of the Mountains classification leader, sponsored by Banca Mediolanum – Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF)
  • Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader, sponsored by Eurospin – Maximilian Schachmann (Quick-Step Floors)
- Advertisement -