World Athletics is pleased to announce the finalists for the International Fair Play Award, celebrated as part of the World Athletics Awards 2023.

Last month, World Athletics invited fans to take to social media to cast their vote for the moment that has best exemplified fair play this year. Following that voting period, the social media scores were combined with jury votes to determine the following three finalists:

• Daniel Ebenyo

In first place during the closing stages of the men’s half marathon at the World Athletics Road Running Championships Riga 23, Kenya’s Daniel Ebenyo saluted his teammate Sebastian Sawe as Sawe overtook him for gold.

• Letesenbet Gidey

After securing silver in the women’s 10,000m at the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23, Ethiopia’s Letesenbet Gidey went back to comfort Netherlands’ Sifan Hassan after Hassan’s dramatic fall on the home straight.

• Jessica Warner-Judd

After finishing eighth in the 10,000m final at the World Athletics Championships Budapest 23, Britain’s Jessica Warner-Judd was the only athlete to wait and shake hands with the final placed runner who completed the event some distance behind the rest of the field.

Following nominations from fans, members of the International Fair Play Committee (CIFP) and World Athletics formed a jury to decide on the shortlist of moments. It is from that six-strong shortlist that the above three moments have been confirmed as the finalists.

The CIFP was established 60 years ago to promote the principles of fair play in sport: fair competition, respect, friendship, team spirit, equality and sport without doping. It honours those who respect the written and unwritten rules of sport, which include integrity, solidarity, tolerance, care, excellence and joy, and who set an example for others, on and off the field. The CIFP’s first collaboration with World Athletics dates back to the 2003 World Athletics Championships in Paris. Ten awards have been handed out since then.

This year’s award winner will be revealed on World Athletics’ platforms in the lead up to the World Athletics Awards in Monaco on 11 December.

Jury members
Valerie Adams (NZL) World Athletics Athletes’ Commission Chair
Ximena Restrepo (COL) World Athletics Senior Vice President
Jon Ridgeon (GBR) World Athletics CEO
David Rudisha (KEN) multiple Olympic and world 800m champion
Sunil Sabharwal (USA) CIFP Secretary General and World Athletics Executive Board Member
Gianmarco Tamberi (ITA) Olympic and world high jump champion
Nan Wang (CHN) World Athletics Council Member

World Athletics

- Advertisement -