Home favourite Mat Desa Sharul kept Terengganu’s flag flying in the 100PLUS National Junior Circuit Zone B (1st Leg) in Kuala Terengganu when he prevented all-Selangor semi-finals in the Boys’ Under-16 singles.

The joint 3/4 seed defeated Selangor’s Chua Kim Sheng 21-11, 21-17 in 30 minutes to face another Selangor hurdle in the last four on Friday and will face Jimmy Wong who walked away with a 21-15, 21-13 win over compatriot.

Top seed and hot favourite Chua Jin Yang continued his relentless march to the semis when he destroyed Kelantan hope Tan Kian Ann 21-17, 21-15. Jin Yangwill face compatriot Yap Juin An next. Juin An was too strong for teammate Lim Thian Loong in his 21-14, 21-18 win.

However, there was no stopping Selangor in the Boys’ Under-14 singles with the Klang Valley powerhouse featuring in all the semi-finals.

Led by top seed Shaz Muhammad Adam who powered past Kedah’s Yuzli Edry Syazuan 21-10, 22-20 it was his compatriot Wong Hong Xiang who was the toast of Selangor.

The unseeded Hong Xiang upset second see Goo Vie Kieat of Kelantan 21-12, 21-19 in 30 minutes. Shaz will take on Kok Jia Sheng, 21-7, 21-12 winner over Zakaria Iskandar Shah in an all-Selangor quarter-final match.

Hong Xiang will face Muhammad Haziq Najib in the semis. Haziq upset 3/4 seed Lim Zhian Meng of Kedah in a three-game thriller 21-16, 8-21, 21-7.

Selangor and Kedah players will also feature in the semi-finals in the Girls’ Under-16 semi-finals. Second seed K. Letshanaa of Selangor will play Kedah’s K. Yeshveenii while Loh Zhi Wei (Selangor) will face Cheng Su Hui (Kedah) for a place in the final.

Two Selangor players and one each from Negri Sembilan and Kedah made the semi-finals in the Girls’ singles Under-14 category.




Chua Jin Yang (Sel) beat Tan Kian Ann (Kel) 21-17, 21-12

Yap Juin An (Sel) beat Lim Thian Loong (Sel) 21-14, 21-18

Mat Desa Sharul (Tgn) beat Chua Kim Sheng (Sel) 21-11, 21-17

Jimmy Wong (Sel) beat Siow Zi Feng (Sel) 21-15, 21-13


Shaz Muhammad Adam (Sel) beat Yuzli Edry Syazuan (Ked) 21-10, 22-20

Kok Jia Zheng (Sel) beat Zakaria Iskandar Shah (Sel) 21-7, 21-12

Muhammad Haziq Najib (Sel) beat Lim Zhian Meng (Ked) 21-16, 8-21, 21-17

Wong Hong Xiang (Sel) beat Goo Vie Kieat (Kel) 21-12, 21-19


Loh Zhi Wei (Sel) beat B. Pannimallar (Ked) 21-19, 22-20

Cheng Su Hui (Ked) beat Lai Zi Ying (Sel) 21-14, 21-19

Yeshveenii (Ked) beat R. Venosha (Sel) 21-19, 21-11

Letshanaa (Sel) beat Cheng Su Yin (Ked) 21-4, 21-19


Chew Tze Teng (NS) beat Sik Xiao Hui (Sel) 21-15, 6-21, 21-14

Selina Loh Hor Yan (Sel) beat Belle Lee Pei Er (NS) 21-23, 21-19, 21-15

Devadarshnee (Ked) beat V. Meeraa Dharsini (Sel) 21-16, 21-17

Siti Nurshuhaini (Sel) beat Tai Jing Ya (NS) 21-9, 21-10

- Advertisement -