Five-time ISAF Match Racing World Champion, Ian Williams of GAC Pindar will compete against some of the fastest rising match racing stars at the Royal Southern Match Cup in Hamble,UK starting this week from 10-14 June. Match Racing in a fleet of J80’s, the Royal Southern Match Cup is the first World Tour Event to be held in the United Kingdom under the new 2015/16 World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) event format.

Williams, who won the event last year, will defend his title against nine other teams including fellow tour card skipper Joachim Aschenbrenner from Denmark. Aschenbrenner, who currently holds the top spot on the 2015 ISAF World Championship leaderboard, replaces Ficker Cup winner Chris Steele from New Zealand who had to drop out of the event for medical reasons.

Rising stars Matthew Jerwood from Australia, Christian Tang from Denmark and Royal Southern Academy Member Annabel Vose (GBR) will also go toe to toe with the five-time world champion.

Vose, who leads the only female team entering this World Tour Event, has made a name in the match racing scene after winning the RYA Youth Match Racing Championship.

Mark Lees, Connor Miller and Matt Reid all representing Great Britain, Lucasz Wozinski from Poland and Irishman Philip Bendon – who competed in the Dutch Match Cup last season will be joining the line-up for the Hamble event.
Karen Henderson-Williams, Vice Commodore of the Royal Southern Yacht Club, and former Royal Southern Academy Chairman commented, “This year’s entry list more than fulfils our objective – to bring some of the World’s best match racers to Hamble and to give our own young sailors the opportunity to compete against them at home.”
James Pleasance, Executive Director of WMRT added “The Royal Southern YC has been very pro-active in developing its match racing program over the last few years. We are delighted to support the Match Cup as an official World Tour event for 2015/16, and particularly as a first Tour event in the UK.”

2015/16 World Match Racing Tour
World Tour Event – Royal Southern Match Cup Entry List 

1. Ian Williams (GBR) GAC Pindar
2. Joachim Aschenbrenner (DEN) Aschenbrenner Racing
3. Mark Lees (GBR) GBR Match Racing
4. Philip Bendon (IRL) Glenmar Racing         
5. Matthew Jerwood (AUS) Redline Racing
6. Christian Tang (DEN) 
7. Connor Miller (GBR)
8. Annabel Vose (GBR)
9. Lucasz Wozinski (POL)   
10. Matthew Reid (GBR) 

- Advertisement -