International Hockey Federation (FIH)

Final members of FIH Athletes Committee announcedย – one new member and two re-appointments

First-ever female representative from Iran joinsย the FIH Athletesโ€™ Committee

Achievements of individuals, teams and Nationalย Associations recognised at Awards ceremony

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) is pleased to announce it hasย appointed the final members to the FIH Athletesโ€™ย Committee following the 2014 Congress in Marrakesh.ย 

The members of the FIH Athletesโ€™ Committee serveย as a consultative body and make recommendations to the FIHย Executive Board, FIH Committees, Advisory Panels and otherย bodies. Thereby playing a vital role in representing theย interests of the athletes.

ย At the 2014 World Cup in June, for the first time, four ofย the eight seats on the FIH Athletesโ€™ Committee wereย elected by the participating World Cup athletes. Southย Africa skipper Marsha Cox, Englandโ€™s Annie Panter,ย Germanyโ€™s Moritz Fรผrste and Australiaโ€™s Liam Deย Young, who are all current or recently retired players willย join the Committee from 2015 for the next term.

These fourย will be joined by New Zealandโ€™s Beth Smith and Scottย Sandison from Canada who were both re-appointed at theย Congress and additionally by Sanaz Heidari from Iran.ย 

Sanaz is the first-ever female representative from theย Middle East to join the Committee. She has played indoorย hockey for ten years with the last three as a member of the Iranian national team.

Upon hearing of her appointment, Sanaz said: โ€œI amย really excited to join the FIH Athletesโ€™ Committee.ย This is a great opportunity to be an ambassador for Iran andย help promote the development of hockey, women and sport. Iย have the chance over the next four years to be a voice andย ambassador for hockey.โ€

Michael Green who will continue as Chairman of the FIHย Athleteโ€™s Committee for the next term said: โ€œAsย I said directly after the elections this is a big stepย forward. For the next term we have representatives from allย five continents, an excellent gender balance and a very goodย knowledge transfer due to the re-appointment of Beth andย Scott. In a couple of weeksโ€™ time we will have a Skypeย conference to define everybodyยดs role and responsibilities.ย 

As the term will end for some members soon, I would like toย thank them for the terrific job they have done.โ€

In a glittering Awards ceremony, the 2014 Congressย recognised and celebrated the achievements of individuals,ย teams and National Associations who contribute so much toย the sport of hockey.

The evening began with the award of the Order ofย Merit, which went to recently retired Australianย Coach, Ric Charlesworth (AUS) for his unique personalย achievements and contribution to international hockey. Peterย Child (GER) and Ben Rea (ENG) received Diploma ofย Merit Awards for their efforts in the developmentย of, and growing popularity of Masters Hockey.

Presidentโ€™s Awards were presented toย Dr Narinder Batra (IND) and Valentina Quaranta (ITA), forย their lengthy and valuable services to hockey. Dr Narinderย Batra, for his commitment to the development of hockey inย India during the last five years, including the creation ofย the Hockey India League. And Valentina in recognition of herย tireless work to promote hockey in Tanzania.

In recognition of her outstanding career dedicated toย umpiring at the highest standards, the Guustย Lathouwers Memorial Trophy went to retired Worldย Cup and Olympic umpire Renรฉe Cohen (NED).

The Renรฉ G. Frank Super Fair Play Trophyย was presented to South Africa hockey. The teams andย athletes of South Africa travel far and wide to attend asย many events as possible at expense to the players as theyย are not fully funded. This commitment and also the
ย production of outstanding officials from the country, wereย recognised with the Trophy.

The Pablo Negre Trophy went to the Uruguayย Hockey Federation in recognition of the increase inย popularity of hockey over the last two years in Uruguay. Aย highlight being hockey was the only team sport from Uruguayย to qualify for the 2014 Youth Olympic Games. Uruguayย received a new hockey pitch and lighting, kindly donated byย Polytan STI and Musco lighting respectively.

Hockey has become the fastest growing sport in the small nation of Vanuatu, as identified by their Olympic Committee.ย This accolade from the Committee, is due in no part to theย efforts of the Vanuatu Hockey Federation over the last fourย years. Their efforts were duly recognised with theย Etienne Glichitch Award.ย 

The Theo Ykema Award went to the Czechย Republic Hockey Federation for their development initiativesย and subsequent increase in hockey activities and playersย across the country.

The hockey world lost a true friend with the passing of HRHย Sultan Azlan Shah earlier this year. Many people regardedย Sultan Azlan Shah as the โ€˜father of Asianย hockeyโ€™, and the Sultan Azlan Shah internationalย tournament, which he inaugurated in 1983, remains one of theย most prestigious invitational tournaments in the world. Hisย life, services to and passion for hockey were honoured byย the FIH with a Posthumous Honoraryย Membership.

FIH President, Leandro Negre commented on the ceremony:ย “It has given me great pleasure to be a part ofย tonightโ€™s Awards ceremony and I extend myย congratulations once again to the winners for theirย fantastic achievements.โ€

- Advertisement -