# Malaysian dumps Chinese youngster Shi Yuqi in semis
# It will be a repeat of the Rio Olympics final
Four-time champion Datuk Lee Chong Wei played at his pace to reach the men’s singles final in the USD400,000 Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open Superseries with a commanding performance in his semi-final match against China’s Shi Yuqi.
The 35-year-old Malaysian was never in doubt of victory over Shi Yuqi as he teased and tormented his opponent although he allowed the Chinese to creep up late in the first game in his 21-19, 21-8 win in 39 minutes to lead head-to-head 6-0.
Chen Long, winner of the Tahoe China Open Superseries Premier last week was taken the distance by Danish youngster Anders Antonsen before prevailing 21-14, 19-21, 21-17 in a marathon 86 minute encounter.
Chong Wei and Chen Long go into the final with the head-to-head count standing 13-13 in the previous 26 meetings. The last time the two met was in the Rio Olympics where Chen Long won the gold medal match. 
For Chong Wei this is his third Superseries final this year after winning the Yonex All-England in March. He also finished runners-up in this year’s Japan Open.
Chong Wei, the number eight seed, has won the Hong Kong Open four times – in 2009, 2010, 2013 and 2015.
The women’s singles final will be a repeat of last year’s final between top seed and world number one Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei and second seed P.V. Sindhu of India.
In the semi-finals on Saturday it was a three-game battle for Tzu Ying against South Korean third seed Sung Ji-hyun. Tzu Ying won the 52-minute match 21-9, 18-21, 21-7.
Sindhu, who was beaten 15-21, 17-21 in last year’s final, made the final with a 21-17, 21-17 win over former world champion Ratchanok Intanon of Thailand.
Chen Long (Chn) beat Anders Antonsen (Den) 21-14, 19-21, 21-17
Lee Chong Wei (Mas) beat Shi Yuqi (Chn) 21-19, 21-8
Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (Ina) beat Li Junhui-Liu Yuchen (Chn) 21-13, 16-21, 21-13
Mads Conrad-Petersen-Mads Pieler Kolding (Den) beat Takuto Inoue-Yuki Kaneko (Jpn) 20-22, 22-20, 21-15
Tai Tzu Ying (Tpe) beat Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) 21-9, 18-21, 21-7
P.V. Sindhu (Ind) beat Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) 21-17, 21-17
Chen Qingchen-Jia Yifan (Chn) beat Jongkolphan Kititharakul-Rawinda Prajongjai (Tha) 21-19, 21-19
Greysia Polii-Apriyani Rahayu (Ina) beat Huang Dongping-Li Wenmei (Chn) 11-21, 23-21, 21-15
Zheng Siwei-Huang Yaqiong (Chn) beat Wang Yilyu-Huang Dongping (Chn) 21-10, 21-18
Mathias Christiansen-Christinna Pedersen (Den) beat Takuro Hoki-Sayaka Hirota (Jpn) 21-15, 22-20
- Advertisement -