Scalping the top two seeds en-route to winning the women’s singles title in the Celcom Axiata Malaysia International Series 2017 which ended in Putrajaya on Sunday are signals that Malaysia’s have a badminton gem.

Kisona, 18, unseeded, celebrated her second title, with a classy performance against top seed and favourite Lim Ying Ying, snatching a come-from-behind 16-21, 21-15, 21-17 win in 59 minutes.

What made her win all the more sweet is that Kisona is ranked a low 190 while Ying Ying, who is Malaysia’s hope in next month’s 29th Sea Games, is in the top 50 bracket – 49 to be exact.

In the semi-finals the talented Kisona beat second seed and national teammate Lim Yin Fun 22-20, 19-21, 21-17.

The Negri Sembilan-born Kisona is a bright spark in Malaysian women badminton. In May this year she won the Victor International Series in Surabaya, Indonesia with a another come-from-behind 10-21, 21-16, 21-19 win over home favourite, Uber Cupper Gregoria Mariska.

Kisona, who is making a return after undergoing knee surgery in 2014, also won the National Under-21 title in Penang in April.

Just like in Surabaya it was double celebration for Malaysian women when newly formed doubles pair of Tee Jing Yi-Soong Fie Cho walked away with title in Putrajaya. In the final the Malaysians outplayed Thailand’s Kittipak Dubthuk-Natcha Saengchote 21-16, 21-17 in 37.

In the Victor International Series in Surabaya the Malaysians beat Indonesia’s Dian Fitriani-Nadya Melati in the final for their first international title.

Malaysia were also triumphant in the men’s doubles with top seeds Lee Jian Yi-Lim Zhen Ting coming off 24-22, 21-19 winners over compatriots Chen Tang Jie-Soh Wooi Yik in 37 minutes.

The men’s singles title went to Singapore’s Penang-born Loh Kean Yew who defeated Malaysia’s 11th seed Cheam June Wei 21-19, 21-14 in 33 minutes.

Indonesia took the mixed doubles title with Yantoni Edy Saputra-Marsheiila Gischa Islami needing only 25 minutes to beat India’s K. Nandagopal-Mahima Aggarwal 21-19, 21-9.   



MS: Loh Kean Yew (Sin) beat Cheam June Wei (Mas) 21-19, 21-14

MD: Lee Jian Yi-Lim Zhen Ting (Mas) beat Chen Tang Jie-Soh Wooi Yik (Mas) 24-22, 21-19

WS: S. Kisona (Mas) beat Lee Ying Ying 16-21, 21-15, 21-17

WD: Soong Fie Cho-Tee Jing Yi (Mas) beat Kittipak Dubthuk-Natcha Saengchote (Tha) 21-16, 21-17

XD: Yantoni Edy Saputra-Marsheila Gischa Islami (Ina) beat K. Nandagopal-Mahima Aggarwal (Ind) 21-19, 21-9

- Advertisement -